jump to navigation

My faith in the world has been restored. January 27, 2008

Posted by Raul in East Vancouver, personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

Or at least, partially (if my neighbours were a lot more considerate about not letting their kid run in their house, I’d say it has been almost totally restored). Anyhow. Today I went for brunch with BS to the Nice Café. It’s a nice neat little restaurant on 8th Avenue and (almost) Main.

We had (as we usually do) a great time. At some point, as it happens when I’m enthralled with the conversation with my friends, I must have pulled (inadvertently) my house keys off of my pocket. Since it was so cold, I didn’t have my gloves nor toque, the sensibility of my fingers was minimal. Therefore, the keys fell off without me noticing.

When I got home, my keys were nowhere to be found, and of course, I panicked. I re-traced my steps, hoping that someone would have found my keys and left them at one of the places I had just been to. Well, lo- and behold, my keys were sitting in a small wedge on the corner of Broadway and Main.

I have to say that, while I am extremely grateful, am not so surprised. I have always had a good feeling about the neighbourhood, so finding my keys only came to reinforce that positive energy I get from here. Clearly, there are reasons to be grateful to The-Powers-That-Be, and I am indeed very very thankful. Hence why my faith in the world has been restored.

Comments»

1. Miss 604 - January 28, 2008

Sometimes little things like that surprise me as well.

When I moved to Boston I was on the subway, “T”, and sifting through my purse. When I got off at the station a questionable-looking guy started following me. Then he picked up the pace and came chasing after me – honestly I got a little scared until he said “you dropped this” and then sped away.

It was my wallet, which must have fallen out on the train when I was going through my purse. I looked inside and everything was still intact. It would have been devastating to lose it in a foreign city. After that day I trusted my second-home city a little more.


Leave a Reply

