jump to navigation

Vancouver Podcasters Meetup (March 2008) recap March 12, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, Commercial Drive, Vancouver Blogger Meetup.
trackback

Rebecca sent me an email informing me about this meetup, and although I am *not* a podcaster, I couldn’t resist the temptation to join. I’ve found bloggers and podcasters alike very welcoming, friendly and really interesting to talk to. Besides, it was going to be held at The End Cafe, which as some of you know is one of my favorite coffee shops, and Rebecca told me she was going so I said “for sure”.

Had a chance to meet a few new folks (though I regret not having seen Derek Miller, aka Penmachine), someone whose blog I have read before and whom I respect a lot. Derek had blogged about the VPM too but he’s undergoing chemotherapy so he wasn’t going to show up. Amongst the folks I met for the first time was Nancy Zimmerman (aka The Money Coach). I’ve agreed to guest-blog for Nancy, so stay tuned for some environmentally-focused money discussions ๐Ÿ˜€

Two other bloggers whom I had read in the past were also there, Matt from Onomatopoeia.org and Maktaaq (who like me, just recently switched platforms from Blogger to WordPress – welcome to WP!). And of course the Bollwitts, Rebecca and John.

After the meetup, the Bollwitts, Matt and Maktaaq and myself headed down to Memphis Blues for some late-dinner (and yes, if you were curious, Matt and Maktaaq are married, and if you need proof, you can check Matt’s About page). Had a fabulous time with these folks. The walk from the End Cafe to Memphis Blues and back and the dinner themselves were highlights of my evening. There are few things more precious to me than hanging out (and walking around) with friends. And as I told these folks tonight, through my blogging and reading theirs I feel as though we’re old-time friends. Instead of just thinking that they’re online strangers, these folks have become friends to me, genuinely interested in who I am outside of the blogosphere and not only in the Internet world.

The actual food wasn’t bad. I’ve reviewed Memphis Blues before – this particular location, actually – and while I did like it, I wasn’t all that impressed with the pulled pork sandwich. Don’t get me wrong, it was very tasty and not that expensive, but I expected a little bit less grease on my sandwich. It was an awesome evening and I would definitely love to hang out with these folks more often. They’ve got great sense of humor, fabulous conversation and endless stories to share. ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments»

1. Rebecca - March 13, 2008

Thanks for coming out, Raul! We definitely have more places to check out along Commercial now (from coffee to jazz lounges) thanks to you ๐Ÿ™‚

2. nancy (aka money coach) - March 13, 2008

great to meet you last night! Any chance you could have a guest post by next Thur, or is that pushing my luck? whatever you like in terms of content – just some connection between money and eco.

3. Maktaaq - March 13, 2008

It was great meeting you last night, Raul! You are a very friendly, happy person!

4. Inside Home Recording.com - IHR Episode #56 (Enhanced) - Dimension Pro, Recording Philosophy, Hardware Failures (2008_03_28) - March 28, 2008

[…] Paul met with Dave Chick, our new PC contributor, at the Vancouver podcaster meetup. Dave normally lives in Toronto, but was in Vancouver for a few […]


Leave a Reply

