jump to navigation

Movie review – Penelope March 19, 2008

Posted by Raul in movies.
trackback

I normally write much longer and detailed movie reviews. However, I was sick while I watched this movie (JT had been wanting to see it, so he took me to the Station Square theatres to see it – although I was surprised at how underwhelmed he was after we’d watched it), so bear with me for not providing details. Check Wikipedia if you want some more.

While the movie is somewhat formulaic, it had some interesting twists. You’ll find some surprises. But what I found most interesting is that the main character said something that I always say about myself, and that I am very grateful about — I can’t say it here as it’d spoil the movie for you if you intend to see it but send me an email if you want to know what that phrase is.

The movie does a good job of keeping you entertained. And MUCH to my surprise, I actually found James McAvoy quite handsome. I know that lots, and lots of people love this kid, but I had not ever paid attention to him. I don’t predict that I will pay attention to him any time soon, but I found that his eyes were extraordinary.

A trailer courtesy of YouTube.

Comments»

1. Marina - March 19, 2008

Darn it. Still haven’t gotten out to see this…hoping to get to it over the weekend. And happy to hear McAvoy got some attention. I know folks talk about him but I get the sense that’s most find him a passing trend whereas I think he has some serious talent.

2. Raul - March 19, 2008

He is probably talented, but I am not 100% sure his style jives with me. Ryan Reynolds, on the other hand…

3. Marina - March 20, 2008

I hear ya. Reynolds is definitely the looker…and talented to boot. I’m pushing “The Nines” on everyone. It’s not only great but he’s great in it! 🙂

4. Raul - March 20, 2008

I’m dying to see “The Nines”… I’ve heard that Ryan is amazing in that one! 😀


Leave a Reply

