jump to navigation

After the “Evening of Green Web 2.0″… March 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere.
trackback

I just read my liveblog of the “Evening of Green Web 2.0”, and while I’m not 100% satisfied, I think I did an ok job. It was hard to include my own commentary and capture the speaker’s thoughts simultaneously. I need to find a way to do that in a better, more sophisticated way. I think I’ve still got to learn a lot. Made some changes to reflect sponsorships.

It was nice to see some of the familiar faces from the blogosphere. For me, blogging is sort of a “way in”, a link between the abstract world of blogging and the very concrete world of interpersonal relationships. The process has become familiar… I get to know a blogger by reading his/her blog, then at some event, I get to meet him/her and from that point on, we are connected. You can tell that I’m happy to see my fellow blogging friends at this kind of events (I just smile like crazy).

Although Rebecca didn’t join us for drinks at Steamworks, we still got a chance to have a brief chat. I also got a chance to exchange a few words with a some folks while at WorkSpace (NOTE TO SELF – Me *loves* WorkSpace – if I’m successful as a freelance sustainability/urbanization/climate change consultant, me wants to get a membership). I recognized David Drucker and Nancy (aka MoneyCoach) although I didn’t get to chat with either of them.

I was also introduced to Colleen, and had a chance to chat for a bit with Jonathon Narvey, whose newest venture WriteImage sponsored the food this evening. Had an opportunity to re-acquaint myself with Ash from PeerGlobe as well (whom I met at ThirdTuesday). At the beginning of the session I met one of the Communicopia sponsors (I am pretty sure he was Jason, the CEO of Communicopia). Overall, it was nice to meet so many folks, both previously known and new. I missed Erika Rathje, though 😦

After the event, we had a chance to have a drink at Steamworks (which as you know, doesn’t qualify as my favorite restaurant/pub). Karen (and her partner Dan), Darren, Jonathon, Eli (with the Suzuki Foundation) and Greg (with TechVibes). I wanted to liveblog this, but I couldn’t connect to FatPort (even though I should have been able to). Not happy about that. Overall, it was good fun. I didn’t have dinner there because I was craving Uncle Fatih’s pizza. So I Skytrained to Commercial and Broadway for dinner.

I have to say that it was quite upsetting to find that The End Cafe had live music (and I wanted to listen to my own music) and Waves on Commercial was totally packed. JJ Beans doesn’t seem to have wi-fi, so I ended up at the End Cafe (one of my favorite cafes, granted, but not the best place to concentrate or listen to my iPod). Did manage to write an abstract for a conference, but I was really distracted.

And to close the night on a not-so-happy note, I was shopping at Safeway and as I was leaving, I had to stop to re-arrange my shopping bags. The woman behind me yelled at me “thank you for stopping, sir!” and I was like “hmmm… I could confront her and stuff, but that’d be too aggressive”. So I refrained from saying anything. As if this wasn’t enough, the 99 B-Line driver ran through a puddle and managed to get my jeans and coat wet (splashing me).

This city is a total paradox. You can find super friendly faces and you can find total a***oles (pardon my language). And if you know me in person, you’ll know that I’m a super sweet and friendly guy. How do I manage to get people angry or upset at me is beyond my wildest imagination. I really don’t know what I did to get both the driver and the woman at Safeway mad, but boy were they aggressive!

Comments»

1. Erika Rathje - March 26, 2008

I was taking notes by hand and at one point missed something important, so there’s always a downside to note-taking in any form. I’m pretty quick after years of note-taking 😉 (I didn’t get a laptop til after graduation.)

Yes that was Jason.

Don’t be hard on yourself! Some people are just nasty all the time, and others may just be having a tough day. I’m generally patient but if I’m in a hurry, I don’t appreciate people who walk slowly, block the entire sidewalk/escalator or stop suddenly. I like to think I’m aware of my surroundings. Nasty people or those who woke up on the wrong side of the bed are the kind, I think, to actually yell about it. (Sidewalk rage?) Confrontation probably wouldn’t have ended well 🙂 The bus driver, on the other hand, probably didn’t notice the puddle or do it on purpose. I’m sorry you got splashed!


Leave a Reply

