jump to navigation

Eatery review – La Grotta Del Fromaggio April 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in cheap eats, Commercial Drive, dining out, East Vancouver, friends.
trackback

I never know how to call these, since La Grotta Del Fromaggio (literally, the cavern of cheese) is more than just a deli. It is a small little piece of heaven tucked in the heart of Commercial Drive, kitty corner from my favorite coffee place, Continental. It is kind of obvious (as those of you who have read my About page) that I shouldn’t really know about La Grotta Del Fromaggio, simply because I don’t eat cheese. But today I met with my good friends H and I, who flew in from the Netherlands, and we went there for lunch.

OH MY GOD. BEST-SANDWICHES-EVER! I had a small bun Montreal smoked meat sandwich ($ 5.00) and it was so filling I am still feeling full. I’m headed over to Uva Wine Bar for a Tweetup, and I still don’t feel the need to eat, because I am SO full. I’m glad that I and H brought me there, not only because it gave me an opportunity to try a new place to eat (inexpensive as well!) but also because I could practice my Italian. Of course, I ended up throwing some Portuguese and Spanish here and there, but overall, it sounded really good.

I’ll post more about the reasons why I am so happy I saw H and I, but I have to head to Uva for the Tweetup. So I’ll talk to you guys later.

La Grotta Del Formaggio on Urbanspoon

Comments»

1. Phaedra - April 17, 2008

I fully agree that they have the best sandwiches ever. They take their time to hand make each one with the freshest and authentic ingredients. Yum!

2. TylerIngram - April 17, 2008

I want photos of these sandwiches so I can salivate and be more tempted to go there!! lol

3. Agasel - April 18, 2008

OMG I *LOVE* the Grotto!

4. Gus - April 18, 2008

Oh yeah they make the best sandwiches. And being part italian I always like the pickled artichoke hearts and peppers on them. YUM!


Leave a Reply

