jump to navigation

Bar review – The Granville Room April 19, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, if you want the summary of this place I can tell you two words: IT SUCKS.

I did expect more than the last time I had been here (when I wasn’t a blogger and thus didn’t feel any need to review it). Well… how to begin? The service was slow, the food was poor (with the exception of the bruschetta, which I have to say was fairly decent).

Vancouver Tweetup and Vancouver Bloggers for Dinner
The bruschetta was decent but Jenn’s dish was overcooked (duck) and undercooked (pasta)
Photo credit: Raul on Flickr.

The waitress took FOREVER to get our drinks, my caipirinha was absolutely awful. You want me to stop right there, right? No? Ok, let me continue… Jenn’s duck was overcooked, the pasta was UNDERCOOKED, there was absolutely no atmosphere.

Vancouver Tweetup and Vancouver Bloggers for Dinner
Rebecca thought the food was good… but her face says otherwise, hehe!
Photo credit: Raul on Flickr

The only thing that was a saving grace was that it was a Tweetup. But I will NEVER, as in NEVER come back to The Granville Room. It was a toss between Roxy Burger and Granville Room. We *should* have gone to the Roxy Burger. SERIOUSLY. Not funny. On top of that, the cocktails are a tad overpriced for the place. Sorry, this is downtown, not Yaletown. A caipirinha for $10? Well. Ok, say I want to pay that amount of money… but give me a decent one. In summary, not the bar I’ll be patronizing in the near future.

Comments»

1. Keith - April 19, 2008

Have to agree for the most part. Particularly about the service… 30 mins to get drinks for six people??? I had the salmon. It was good. Not spectacular, but solid. And the pints of Guinness were cold, smooth and fresh.

2. Phaedra - April 19, 2008

what’s a caipirinha?

3. Raul - April 20, 2008

It’s a Brazilian beverage, but their variation was HORRENDOUS.


Leave a Reply

