jump to navigation

My 2 year blogaversary is today, April 23rd. April 23, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

Two years ago, on this day, I was getting home at 6 am from an after-hours place. I walked all the way home, fascinated with the amazing weather and the sheer beauty of the city of Vancouver. I wanted to leave this feeling for posterity and thus I started writing a personal diary, a blog of some sort. I knew very little about blogs at the time. I knew two of my best friends had blogs. I also knew that they were pretty much open for everyone to see. My friend LM used hers to keep me up-to-date about her comings and goings.

Months passed by and by the end of 2006 all I had accumulated was 55 posts. Not very productive, eh? I wrote a post every couple of days or so, just to keep myself entertained. THEN July 2007 arrived, and my world changed as I saw it. I went back and looked at what I had been doing with my blog and the vast majority was posts related to dining out. I had somehow transformed from just a blogger who just wrote random posts and who was studying environmental issues to a blogger who actually knew to a certain extent the dining out scene of Vancouver.

THEN Blogathon 2007 happened. Out of the blue, I wrote an email to Rebecca Bollwitt (aka Miss604.com) and asked her “hey do you think this would be a good idea?”. Quite frankly, I didn’t know if she would answer. She seemed nice and polite, but … she was Miss604.com, after all. Well, lo-and-behold, she answered with very encouraging words, so off I went… and I Blogathoned. And she kept checking my blog, and dropping comments and encouraging me while we both suffered through the pain of having to blog interesting content for 24 hours straight (one post every 30 minutes).

Months went by, and the number of readers who would grace my blog rose from 3 a day to about 80. I mastered Blogger and learned how to do a few tricks. However, I still hadn’t “crashed” the blogosphere party. I still felt somehow “peripheral” to the social media community. Then a few months ago, I started participating in the Vancouver Bloggers Meetups. I met with many local bloggers who welcomed me with open arms. I even live-blogged a couple of these VBMs! Through these meetins I got to know Jonathon Narvey, Richard Erikson, Karen Fung, David Drucker, Monica Hamburg, Na’im, Isabella Mori, Bokashiman, and many more.

Finally, one good day I met Rebecca in person, on her way to live-blogging yet another event. It was very nice to finally bridge the chasm and actually talk off the blogosphere. More events came, more content was blogged, and I got to know a number of other bloggers whom I now call friends too, including Rebecca’s husband John, Adam and Corinna Carlson, Phaedra McEachren, Pat Zaph, Keira-Anne Mellis, Tanya Davis, Tod Maffin, John Biehler, Matt and Maktaaq, Marina, Rastin, GusF, Ash, Jenn Lowther, Nancy Zimmerman, Sarah Marchildon, Colleen Coplick, Duane Storey…. and the list goes on, and on.

I got to bowl with a number of bloggers, attended lots of other social media events and with time, I have grown to care for a large number of Vancouver bloggers. Recently I had the pleasure of meeting Karen Parker, Derek and Airdrie Miller and Kate Milford, Gillian Gunson, amongst a number of other bloggers. And of course, who could forget THE DaveO πŸ™‚

I now receive betwen 3,000 and 4,500 unique visits per month, and publish an average of 45 to 60 blogs a month. Throughout this process, many people helped me with tips and suggestions. However, it would be wrong of me if I didn’t acknowledge Rebecca’s very substantial contribution to my blog’s growth. In Mexican Spanish, there is a saying that goes something like this “el que no es agradecido, es un malnacido” (that guy who isn’t thankful, is a complete a@#hole). I am grateful to everyone who has helped me, and in particular to Rebecca for helping me with geeky tips, encouraging me and inviting me to guest blog.

I now look forward to meeting many of my followers and readers of my blog, including but not limited to Tyler Ingram, Jeremy Latham, Barbara Doduk, Beth Snow, Jennifer Stodart, VanKeefer and Erika Rathje. And of course, I am also waiting with baited breath to meet Stephen Rees and Paul Hillsdon, two of the local transportation gurus.

I believe that there is readership in the blogosphere for everyone. We all blog because we love it.
I believe that this blog wouldn’t be where it is if it weren’t for you, my dearest and loyal readers.
I believe that we can all get along. It’s not easy, and requires hard work, but we most certainly can.
I believe that my future in blogging looks promising. I love blogging and wouldn’t give it up now.
I believe that my social circle has just grown larger and I am very grateful to the Powers-That-Be for that.
I believe that there will be another blogaversary to celebrate next year, and hopefully, the next few weeks will be the weeks when I’ll get to implement http://hummingbird604.com. I’ve decided that I am going to buy the domain, finally!

I apologize if I have left anyone out of this post, as it hasn’t been intentional, and I also apologize for not linking to your personal blogs. I am mentally and physically exhausted and very emotional. Tears are running through my eyes and all I can say, to all of you who read me and to all of you who have now come to be part of my circle of friends… THANK YOU, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Comments»

1. Gus - April 23, 2008

Hey Raul,

Congrats on your 2 year “blogaversay”. Does this mean there will be cake? πŸ™‚

I know it’s challenging to come up with new topics to write and you do a wonderful job of it and I enjoy reading your blog. Hopefully I will get there one day.

Nice to have met you in person too and hope to see you at more events in the future!

2. Rebecca - April 23, 2008

CONGRATULATIONS What a milestone! I just went back and read our first emails and I think in the 3rd one I sent you I was giving you step-by-step instructions on putting the blogathon badge on your site hehe. I’m really glad that I could help you out, then and now.

And a very big thanks to YOU for reaching out to me last year, if you hadn’t then I wouldn’t know the real Raul and how great he is.

Keep up the great content and the positive spirit πŸ™‚

3. TylerIngram - April 23, 2008

Woo Congrats on your 2 years! I’m coming up to my 2 year mark soon (i think) but its great to hear you’ve had such a positive experience blogging and that you’ve met some pretty cool people. Perhaps I can meet all these local bloggers too!

4. Jeremy Latham - April 23, 2008

Happy two-year Raul! Looking forward to reading more.

Rebecca and John played a large role when I started blogging too.

5. PatZ - April 23, 2008

happy blog day to you!

6. Marina - April 23, 2008

Yey! Congratulations on the two year benchmark! Here’s wishing for many, many more to come!!! And I’m with Gus….CAKE!! πŸ™‚

7. Matt Collinge - April 23, 2008

Raul, Congrats on your blogaversary!!! Looking forward to seeing you at the new domain.

8. gusgreeper - April 23, 2008

i can’t believe it has been two years already!! insane. congrats!! two years is pretty big in the blog world! :)time flies when you only internet know someone then i guess it goes even faster once you meet them πŸ™‚

9. Jenn - April 23, 2008

Congrats on the 2 year blogaversary. Where’s the ice cream cake?

10. Barbara Doduk - April 23, 2008

2 Years! Woo hoo! PiΓ±a Colada Time!

I’m doing Blogathon again this year.

I think Rebecca honored me by saying I turned her on to the Blogathon… the trickledown effect rocks.

This is my 10th year of keeping a form of online journal. November will mark my 11th year of being a net nerd. I still love doing it.

11. isabella mori - April 23, 2008

happy 2 year to you, happy 2 year to you, happy 2 year, happy 2 year, happy 2 year to you! and many more!

12. Sarah - April 23, 2008

Happy blogiversary!!! I’m a newish reader to your blog but I think it’s great and I think you’re great too! So keep it up and here’s to another two years.

13. Maktaaq - April 24, 2008

Congratulations on your two years! I agree that blogging’s a great way to make friends!

14. Jonathon Narvey - April 25, 2008

Congratulations on the progress you’ve made, Raul. You have emerged as a heavyweight in the blogosphere (not just in the Vancouver territory, either) and you deserve all the pings you get. Cheers.

15. BlogRant: Random Thoughts of a Student of Blogging | Currents - April 25, 2008

[…] blogging superstar has emerged on the Vancouver scene. On his two-year blogaversary, Raul of the Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment blog can point to a fairly substantial achievement: betwen 3,000 and 4,500 unique visits per month. […]


Leave a Reply

