jump to navigation

Cajeta by the spoonful April 24, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

cajeta
A spoonful of cajeta quemada. Photo credit: Raul on Flickr.

One of the things I hate is to not be inspired about what to write, either for my blog or for my own research. I have always thought of myself as a decent writer with a good imagination. But today, I was entirely out of it. No inspiration whatsoever. Whenever I feel that I am down with my luck, or I need a pick-me-up, I generally go for grape-flavored Jell-O. It reminds me of everyone in my family and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

But I didn’t have Jell-O at home right now (I’m heading to the store right after I publish this post), so I was in dire need of some candy. I ran out of chocolate last week and haven’t re-stocked, and my late nights trying to finish the stupid paper I’m writing have resulted in the demise of my Twizzlers bags. So, I thought I was pretty much SOL.

However, thankfully, AF had just recently given me a bottle of “cajeta“, a thick, syrup-like confection made of sweetened milk that (for all of you chemical engineers and mechanical engineers out there) behaves rheologically pretty much like a non-Newtonian fluid, thixotropic, also often called ‘Bingham’s plastic fluid’). Anyways, leaving the fluid mechanics geekery behind, let me explain to you what I meant by “Cajeta by the spoonful”.

I recognize that eating that much sweetened milk can be detrimental to my weight, and that it may not be the best idea for healthy eating, but sometimes, you just need a “pick-me-up”. Mine today was cajeta by the spoonful and I am NOT ashamed to admit it. Cajeta reminds me of my parents, of my very happy childhood, of everything that is nice and means something to me in this world. So, in spite of however many calories I’ve ingested, today all I needed was cajeta by the spoonful.

UPDATE – You can buy cajeta through Amazon. Go figure. And here I thought it was only books.

Comments»

1. Jeremy Latham - April 24, 2008

Don’t feel too bad – sometimes I eat ice cream by the bowlful. I like ice cream!

2. Susannah - April 24, 2008

Mmmmm! Cajeta!

The kids sometimes bring a bottle back from visits to Mexico. It always reminds me of times spent standing in the tiny apartment kitchen in Mexico City, watching the actvity down on the street and eating bolillos spread with cajeta. Good memories!

3. Maktaaq - April 24, 2008

I used to have this stuff in my fridge, maybe someone else in my house bought it. So it can definitely be bought in the Lower Mainland, I just don’t know which store. I’ll ask my family members if they remember it and where they got it.


Leave a Reply

