jump to navigation

Crazy and fun weekend… April 27, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, drinks, friends, personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

God, how time flies! Just on Wednesday I was thinking my paper was going to be done and it’s May next week! Don’t know why, but April was a very intense and tiring month. I *seriously* need a holiday. And this weekend is definitely NOT the holiday weekend. Thursday night, I went to Cafe Deux Soleils with H, C, M, I, H and little L. Friday night is my usual night out with C and B who had just returned from a short but fun holiday Europe (I mean, who doesn’t have fun in Paris and Germany?).

J, L and I went over our separate ways to C and B’s place (my Friday nights are usually spent in Richmond, although we manage to go and eat out every so often), but J drove both of us back home. It was sort of a bittersweet evening as I had to say goodbye to him for the summer. Same thing with H, I and L to whom I said bye for maybe a bit longer. I am starting to hate saying goodbyes. Why do I say this? Well, because tonight I also said “goodbye for the summer” to another blogosphere friend, PatZ, who is leaving for Bangladesh.

I again crammed a lot in the same weekend, but really, there was NO WAY I was going to miss wine and cheese at Matt and Maktaaq‘s house. I really enjoy their company, we really don’t hang out nearly as much as we all would like to. They both are outstanding writers, really funny, and very pleasant to spend time with. I hope that the next few months will bring more opportunities to get together. Had a chance to *finally* meet Ryan Cousineau and TLO (who is absolutely adorable by the way), and also always the pleasure of seeing David Drucker and Pam. Also met MaikoPunk, though I didn’t get really much of a chance to chat with her.

Although I teased him incessantly with his comment “you’re not that famous Raul”, Ryan was a really good sport and meeting him along with many other bloggers in Vancouver has come to demonstrate that blogging was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. I wouldn’t have met Matt, Maktaaq, Ryan, David, Pat or any of the other bloggers I’ve met had it not been for engaging in what David calls, the “loud murmurs” (hence the title of his blog).

I had to stay for a fairly short time at Matt and Maktaaqs as I had to head to The Cambie for PatZ’s going away, where I met other bloggers (Chad and Danielle) – surprisingly, we read some of the same blogs (at least from what I could see from Danielle’s site). I say surprisingly because, after 2 years of blogging, it took me THIS LONG to meet them! Anyways, I am tired, a bit hungry and really should be asleep instead of trying to blog.

One last thing. The photos will be coming later either tomorrow or Monday. I have got a gazillion things to do and not enough time to do them. As for The Cambie… it has cheap beer, awesome music and lots of eye candy for all of you boys and girls out there. Not exactly my demographic but most definitely had a chance to see LOTS of eye-candy. But then again, not everything is looks, as I’ve repeatedly said on my blog. It was strange to be again at The Cambie. I hadn’t been there since my MBA years. Time flies!

Ok, off to sleep for me. Got volleyball tournament tomorrow all day. Hope you are all enjoying the sun. Surprisingly, even though I brought a jacket with me, I pretty much walked around Vancouver with my long-sleeve shirt and that was that. Finally, it appears as though Spring is here.

Comments»

1. Maktaaq - April 28, 2008

Thanks for coming, Raul!


Leave a Reply

