jump to navigation

I’m the #1 ranked UrbanSpoon Vancouver blogger! May 1, 2008

Posted by Raul in dining out, local business, personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

There are many reasons to celebrate this particular achievement (mainly because I don’t review restaurants for a living or anything like that). The first one is that while not all of my posts are linked back to UrbanSpoon, the 44 reviews that are got 2,468 views in April 2008 alone.

Random thoughts of a student of the environment Vancouver restaurants

The second reason is the fact that I wasn’t looking for that “leadership” position. It’s all come from people who Google a certain restaurant and land on my blog or on my UrbanSpoon page.

And the third reason is that all of those times dining out have been with good friends, and that’s the primary reason why I am so happy. It is sharing a meal with good friends that makes it all worth it! Same as with last night’s WordCamp. I really enjoyed the presentations, but it was actually the chance to meet this folks in person, to make new friends and spend some time with my blogging folks that makes it all worth it.

While it hasn’t translated into “free meals” or any invitations to come by a certain restaurant, it’s always nice to be recognized, and most importantly, to not seek the recognition and achieve it. Finally, thanks to everyone who has read my restaurant reviews, shared a meal with me or taken me out for lunch or dinner, as that’s allowed me to increase the number of restaurant reviews!

Also, Flux Bar review coming soon πŸ™‚ Stay tuned!

Comments»

1. Gus - May 1, 2008

Hey Congrats!!!

Free meals are always fun, and you can come over for some meals at my place anytime! Just don’t blog about the food…unless it’s AWESOME .. hehehe.

2. Rebecca - May 1, 2008

Here’s a photo of my meal last night in case you’d like it for your Flux review πŸ™‚

3. Raul - May 1, 2008

Thanks for the invite Gus, I’ll take you up sometime (particularly now that the weather is so nice, and you’re a Yaletowner hehe)

Thanks for the photo Rebecca – You always have my back! Thanks so much πŸ™‚ The popularity of my Tequila Kitchen is due partly the result of you inviting me there for lunch! Lunch with Miss604 rules!

4. Marina - May 1, 2008

Hey! Congrats! That’s AWESOME!

One day, I’ll be #1 at something! πŸ˜‰

5. Barbara Doduk - May 1, 2008

Wicked news. So cool.

6. Phaedra - May 1, 2008

And were we not just chatting about this very thing the other day…see what the Universe picks up when you put it out there….way to go, Raul!

7. Raul - May 1, 2008

Thanks for the congrats all πŸ™‚

@ Phaedra – yes we were indeed! I am actually quite pleasantly surprised, I did not expect it. When I found out, I was kind of hoping for some badge from UrbanSpoon or something (like a “gift certificate for a dinner for two”) but whatever, the thing is – without even realizing it, I’m somewhat of an authority in the local restaurant industry, hehehe πŸ™‚ Thanks everyone again πŸ™‚

8. gusgreeper - May 3, 2008

congrats! you SO deserve this!!

dude, we should TOTALLY go to the red onion i meant to comment when you reviewed it i LOVE that place! and yes that was me going through pages to find the original post πŸ˜›

9. Raul - May 7, 2008

@ Corinna – I *heart* the Red Onion!

10. New leader in the Vancouver UrbanSpoon Leaderboard « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 12, 2008

[…] 2008 Posted by Raul in Vancouver, blogosphere, dining out, friends. trackback For a few months,I was the #1 ranked blogger/reviewer for UrbanSpoon. I just noticed today that I have been dethroned. Kitsilano.ca, a collective blog led by a good […]


Leave a Reply

