jump to navigation

Happy Birthday, Mom604! May 3, 2008

Posted by Raul in food for thought, friends, personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

In the past few months, I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know both your daughter (Rebecca) and your son-in-law (John), and I have to say that it’s been a great experience. I am sure you’ve read of our exploits, from having lunch at Tequila Kitchen to live-blogging at Third Tuesday, to bowling for Big Brothers at XCalibur… the time I’ve spent with The Bollwitts, and particularly Rebecca, has been outstanding.

Rebecca and I were talking today about the fact that it is your birthday, and the plans she had to celebrate it. I can completely relate to her excitement and joy. I am, in more ways than one, a Momma’s boy. I’m extremely close to my mother and she is really my best friend. So, I always enjoy listening to stories that my friends tell of how close they are to their parents, and especially, their mothers. Becky is really looking forward to spending some quality time with you and the family.

Mom604 and Miss604
Miss604 and Mom604. Photo credit: Rebecca Bollwitt on Flickr.

Mother’s Day is celebrated in Mexico on May 10th and I will be stuck here in Vancouver. I have spent Mother’s Day away from my Mom more than six times that I can recall. We have always managed to live in different countries for the majority of my adult life. So in many ways, when Mother’s Day approaches, I live and enjoy it vicariously through my friends. Luckily, my Mom comes North every summer for at least a month and we manage to spend her birthday together. I for one know how important it is for a son or daughter to spend their parents’ birthdays together.

You have raised one hell of a good daughter. I have been lucky in that Rebecca has guided me in the world of social media and never fails to provide a helping hand whenever I need her the most. I haven’t had the chance to spend much time with John although I look forward to doing so, because I think that he must be one hell of a great guy if he scored with the wonderful daughter that you have.

I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting you in person yet, but I look forward to doing so in the very near future. The way personal relationships work in the cultures where I’ve grown up is very peculiar. We (the children) become friends and then our parents become friends amongst themselves, even when we’re all grown-up. I would hope that in the future, maybe you and my Mom will meet.

In the mean time and while that day arrives, I just wanted to wish you a very happy birthday. And even though I speak seven languages, German is not one of them, but I found a few words that I would like to say… haben sie eine gute geburtstag !!!!

Comments»

1. miss604 - May 3, 2008

So sweet! She’s going to love this (and I think you’re going to make her cry hehe). I hope you get to spend some quality time with your mother this summer, moms rule 🙂

2. Phaedra - May 3, 2008

what a beautiful post, featuring two lovely ladies 🙂 I agree Rebecca, moms rule. Mine will be here for my graduation May 30th….yay!

3. mom604 - May 3, 2008

Becky’s right…I did cry. I still have tears of happiness and warmth in my eyes as I am typing this (so please excuse the errors)

I can’t tell you how much this message of birthday greetings means to me. I, too, hope that we can actually meet one day, although I feel I already know you through my Becks. You are a kind and sweat soul. It is no wonder you are all such great friends and I am thankful. “Vielen Dank”


Leave a Reply

