jump to navigation

Oh, my neighbours… May 5, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

As you know, my dear readers, in the past few weeks/months, even though I’ve written this blog as a personal blog, I’ve also included a lot of snippets of information regarding local events, live-blogging, etc. Well, today’s post goes back to my roots and the reason why I started this blog. No, I didn’t start it to complain about the unbelievably abnormal behavior of my upstairs’ neighbours’ kid. But I did talk about it on my blog, every so often.

Since I’ve been so busy and emotionally and physically exhausted, I hadn’t even paid attention to the neighbours. I’ve been outside of my house for so long I haven’t even had an evening of “Raul time” in AGES. Anyhow, today I had to stay home for a substantial part of the afternoon, and I could hear my neighbour (the father of the little devil) tell him “How many times do I need to tell you to stop stomping on the floor?”. I am *not* kidding.

The kid is 3.5 yrs old, almost 4 and behaves like a one-year old. Why does he do that? I don’t know, but the parents try to REASON with the kid even though there is NO WAY IN HELL the kid is going to understand his parents and the level of speech they use. Other times, when I’ve written on my blog about my neighbours, I complain. This evening, I feel really sorry for them. My parents were UNBELIEVABLE and I think they gave me and my brothers THE best education ever.

Many people praise my brothers (and collaterally, me) because they are polite, courteous, well-groomed and mild-mannered. I’d like to believe I’m the same way. And the funny thing is, my neighbours’ kid is NOTHING like that. The kid is beautiful in and of himself, but his behavior and tantrums make him look simply… annoying.

Parenting is hard, and I seriously don’t want to do it until I’m ready. And yes, I can hear you now – YOU’RE NEVER READY TO BE A FATHER. I know. I am just saying…

Comments»

1. Stephen Rees - May 5, 2008

You can never, ever tell anyone how to raise their kids. But you can sure learn from the mistakes you see being made every day.

Imagine what this kid’s teacher is going to face first day of kindergarten. Or worse, the poor soul who runs his daycare.


Leave a Reply

