jump to navigation

Petition: JJ Beans *should* have WiFi May 10, 2008

Posted by Raul in coffee, East Vancouver, Main Street, Mount Pleasant, personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

Everybody who knows me well will know that I am a fan of JJ Beans House of Coffee. It’s a local chain of coffee shops

JJ Bean offers some of Vancouver’s finest coffee, freshly roasted in small batches every day. We have five retail stores in the Vancouver area, and we supply wholesale coffee to over three-hundred cafes and fine-dining restaurants in the lower mainland.

Our passion is great coffee. Our goal is to share that passion with everyone we touch. Come visit us and discover just how great coffee can be.[JJ Beans]

They have a location very close to my apartment, so I *love* meeting my former students, colleagues and friends there. It provides a comfortable atmosphere where you can chat, discuss career options (for my former students) or just simply edit a paper. There is ONE thing you can’t do there, though: surf the internet (thus, you can’t use Twitter or MSN or GTalk or write a blog post).

While having coffee at Bean Around the World with Rastin and Teresa we were complaining about the fact that JJ Beans doesn’t have Wi-Fi. Teresa has commented about this on her blog, and we all agreed that we should start a petition to have JJ Beans reconsider and offer Wi-Fi.

WHY SHOULD JJ BEANS HAVE Wi-Fi?

  • Because we like to geek out to good coffee. And JJ Beans has awesome coffee.
  • Because it would attract a whole new crowd, including the students who love multi-tasking and the geeks.
  • Because it would make my life SO easy.
  • [Add your own reason]

Since I’m not on Facebook, I can’t start a petition on it. But I’m more than happy to talk to the managers about it. I’ve had some great conversations (one of the most recent, with Jonathon Narvey) while having a coffee at JJ Beans, so what could be better than being able to geek out there with blogo-friends?

Comments»

1. jnarvey - May 17, 2008

I agree with you 100 per cent. I’ve actually seen a lot of people already working in there with their laptops, so it’s not like JJ Beans needs to worry about the geeks taking over — we already have.

The problem is that when a business is already doing well (and the crowds at JJ Beans can attest to their success) there is little impetus to change. I’d be happy to start a Facebook group on this topic, but first I’m going to try just calling them and asking why the heck they don’t have the wifi. I will report on my findings ASAP. Cheers, Raul.

By the way, I think we’re on for coffee at JJ Beans next weekend, aren’t we? Just checking.

2. Raul - May 17, 2008

Hi Jonathon, yes we are šŸ™‚

3. Tyler Ingram - August 22, 2008

So why do they not want WiFi (hotspot access)?


Leave a Reply

