jump to navigation

Happy Mother’s Day May 11, 2008

Posted by Raul in food for thought, personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

Wknd Apr 5 2008 080

I was going to write my Mother’s Day entry on Friday to make sure that my Mom would read it on Saturday (the day when Mother’s Day is celebrated in Mexico) but I’ve been so insanely busy AND tired I just couldn’t bring myself to write something coherent. My brain wasn’t really working well on Saturday so I just called her last night and told her live how much she means to me.

There are a gazillion reasons why I feel fortunate to have Mom in my life, but these are just a few reasons why I admire her so much. I’m hoping my brothers will translate these thought for her as I don’t think I could read them out loud in Spanish without shedding tears.

I’m grateful to my Mom because
– She taught me the value of hard work and has always been a role model for me. My Mom has been, at the same time, mother, wife, professional, sister, daughter and she has been outstanding in each and every one of these roles. She has always worked extremely hard (and she still does, as she is a university professor).
– She taught me that no matter how difficult the current situation may seem, there’s always a way out and that the darkest hour is just before the dawn.
– She has supported me emotionally and financially in each one of my endeavours. Never in my life has my Mom said “no, you can’t do that because we don’t have the money” or “no, you shouldn’t do that“.
– She always given me the opportunity to make my own choices. My Mom has never forced me to do (or avoid doing) anything just because she thought I was about to make a mistake (or that I should embark in any particular adventure).
– She gave me the best gift any parent could give – lots and lots of love. She instilled in me self-confidence, self-awareness and the moral duty to be a good person in this world. I am who I am in many ways because of my Mom. And I am so much like her.

I miss not having my Mom here for Mother’s Day, but I know that she had a good celebration nonetheless, and I’ll be spoiling her when she comes visit.

I haven’t had the opportunity to meet many of my friends’ Moms. However, even if I haven’t met their mothers, just by virtue of knowing how great my friends are, I can tell that their moms must be amazing. So, in celebration of that, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Comments»

1. Michael Yurechko - May 11, 2008

I just said Happy Mothers Day to my mom and got her 1 dozen pink/white roses. Happy Mothers Day to all moms around the world 🙂

2. isabella mori - May 11, 2008

… and the other way round. your mom sounds awesome. “by their fruits you shall tell them”

of course i’m curious about your mother now. wondering what she looks like, what she does, what her favourite food is …

3. Phaedra - May 11, 2008

I just got off the phone with my mom. I let her know that I have planned a trip for the both of us to Salts Spring Island in June.

I am so looking forward to meeting your mom when she comes to visit Raul. I am sure she is all sorts of wonderful 🙂

4. Keira-Anne - May 11, 2008

This was a lovely post to read, Raul. I especially loved what your mom taught you: the darkest hour is always before dawn. So incredibly true!

5. drunkdreamer8 - August 5, 2008

Hello,
just wanted to invite you to my blog at http://www.drunkdreamer8.com if you needed some encouragment today.
C.Apana

6. Matt - November 13, 2008

Hello!

I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use a photograph of yours in this book. Please contact me at matt@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Matt
matt@wefeelfine.org


Leave a Reply

