jump to navigation

Shameless, really shameless May 12, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

And no, I’m not talking about myself. I’m talking about my neighbors, and specifically, my neighbor’s kid. I arrived home to quickly shower as I had to head out again, and bumped into my neighbor’s little kid (3.5 yrs old). If you’ve read my blog for long enough, you’ll know that my basement apartment gets a lot of noise because the kid runs and stomps on his floor (e.g. my ceiling). My next-door neighbor is thus forced (and sometimes I do the same) to hit the ceiling with our fists and scream “stop stomping!”.

This was my conversation with the kid as he said hi and I approached my doorstep.

Kid – “Hi”
Me – “Hi”
Kid – “I stomp on the floor”
Me – “Yes, I know you do”
Kid – “But that’s ok, because I’m a little kid and little kids do that sometimes”.
Me – [At this point, I am both upset and shocked that his parents would teach him that it’s ok to stomp on my ceiling EVERY SINGLE DAY OF THE WEEK AT EXACTLY 6.00 AM, and then at 6.15, 6.30, 6.40, 6.50, 7… 9.45 AM. Obviously, at 9.45 am my patience disappears] “Hmmm… actually no, that’s not ok. It would be better if you didn’t stomp on the floor. It would be better for me and it would be better for YOU”.
Kid – [Wanting to engage in conversation] “….”
Me – [Having to rush] “Ok, bye”

I am really shocked, I have to admit. I mean, it’s not like I’m a monster who doesn’t like kids. I *love* kids. But I do find his behavior unacceptable AND the fact that his parents say that it’s ok only teaches him that it’s not necessary to respect the quiet time of other people. I am just not sure how to proceed from here.

Comments»

1. Maktaaq - May 12, 2008

Grr, this makes my blood boil. Even when I was that age, I knew the world didn’t revolve around everything I was allowed to do! I see a few of my friends who are parents allow their kids to run around like little terrors…and have lost one friendship for growling when one kid nearly put his foot in my dinner while he was rough-housing in a restaurant.

There is no reason not to teach kids manners. After all it helps them in life.

If you want, I could write a letter of complaint to these people. 🙂

2. Raul - May 12, 2008

Awww thanks, Maktaaq 😀

Truth be told, I think they must have read this (or somehow gotten the message), because this morning, the kid has been outstandingly quiet. But as I said I was pretty shocked. I mean, no kid that I’ve known in my life has ever told me that it’s ok for him to make noise because “little kids do that sometimes”. I mean, once the anger dissipated, I actually laughed at the fact.

3. Jan Karlsbjerg - May 12, 2008

Time for this Dutch commercial once again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

