jump to navigation

Tuesday Link Love – High Pressure Edition May 13, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, link love, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

Holy smokes, it’s 3.23 am and I’m awake. I’ve wanted to highlight some local happenings and provide a bit of link love but I’ve been so insanely busy (and yeah I know I said I wouldn’t blog and here I am!)

Nancy Zimmerman is engaging in social activism to stop the condos slated for 58 West Hastings. I know Nancy very well, she’s a good friend of mine and she is very socially conscious. So go to her blog and see what you can do.

– The always adorable and knowledgeable Monica Hamburg tells you that indeed, we’re all in this together.

– I need a new hairdo. I really do, and I’m not going to cut my hair between now and Friday. But if I had to, I’d check Tris Hussey’s Manscaping 101 (although no, I’m not dying my hair green).

Green Drinks is happening again on Wednesday May 21st. I *might* show up but it is not looking entirely good. I have Launch Party 4 that same night and I’m torn. I am an enviro-geek but now my world includes social media and I want to meet cool peeps like Jordan Behan and Maura Rodgers from Strutta. And also I want to see my usual crowd. But if I do to Green Drinks, I’ll be wearing a dark green, short sleeve shirt with my name in big letters (Raul) and I’ll be doing my job of “Green Greeter”. So you better be prepared for some aggressively friendly approaches from me đŸ˜‰

– The Tyee.ca is one of the best news source online, particularly if you’re Vancouver/British Columbia-focused. I almost woke up my neighbour laughing at their “Should I Friend my Mom on Facebook” story.

– Miss604 always manages to come up with great content, but this is perhaps one of Rebecca’s best entries IMHO. Blogging for hire? How much is your content worth? She poses the question in a very well-thought-out manner and it’s up to you to answer. I have my response prepared but that’ll wait until after Friday.

Mostly Lisa asks her readers about the value of university education. I am not ready to answer that question yet, but I’ve been amused by some of her commentator’s utterances. What is the value of education for you? You can double-dip (e.g. drop a comment on Lisa’s blog AND the same comment on mine). Actually some people hate the double dips in academia (e.g. that you publish the same book chapter in two different books). I’m not a big double-dipper, but I will repeat a comment in two blogs if need be. Just because I read over 70 blogs a day and I just can’t keep up with everyone.

Comments»

1. bokashiman - May 13, 2008

Nice one. Al

2. Christina - May 13, 2008

Hi Raul, just wanted to let you know that because of you I am now a regular reader of not only your blog, but a couple from your blogger pals too. I’m a big lurker…

By the way, if you do go to green drinks next week, your greeter services would be very appreicated. Unfortunately I’ll be away for it but Lyda will be there. Bye for now!

3. monicahamburg - May 13, 2008

Thanks for the link love, Raul!

And I’ll be thinking of you when you defend your thesis – you’ll be amazing!

4. Jordan - May 14, 2008

Hey Raul,

I look forward to meeting you too. See if you can squeeze that LaunchParty into your schedule, will ya?

5. Raul - May 14, 2008

Hi everyone, thanks for commenting.

@ Monica – thanks for the good vibes!

@ Christina – have a beer for me in London!

@ Jordan – Yes, I will most definitely see if I can squeeze LaunchParty into my schedule. Been looking forward to it! The only conflict I have right now is with Green Drinks, but those happen once every month. I might just swing by GD for a tiny bit then I’m all LaunchParty, For The Win!


Leave a Reply

