jump to navigation

Third Tuesday Vancouver May 2008: Darren Barefoot May 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, Downtown, local events, social networking, Third Tuesday, upcoming events, Vancouver, Web 2.0.
trackback

The Vancouver social media crowd can hardly wait to hear Darren Barefoot, one of Canada’s blog-fathers speak on May 20th on “Getting the Attention of the Web’s influencers“. This promises to be a really good Third Tuesday (all of the ones I have attended have been simply outstanding, and this one is co-organized as I understand by Monica Hamburg, Tanya Davis and Tod Maffin).

I have heard Darren speak before, at one of the NetTuesday events (which I live-blogged) and I like his work. I comment on his blog frequently and have chatted with him and exchanged emails a couple of times, although I wouldn’t say by any measure that I know him really well. But I do know his work and I really like his Web 2.0 savvy and knowledge. Plus, he has a really particular style of presenting his work. So, it should be interesting to learn more from one of the top bloggers. Besides, it does give me a great opportunity to meet in person other bloggers and readers of my own blog, and hang out with many great friends I’ve made through my blogging.

Miss604.com (Rebecca Bollwitt) will be providing excellent coverage of the event, AND she is also a media partner Rebecca will provide either live-blogging or recapping. Better yet, she will be giving prizes away!!! I haven’t yet decided whether I’ll live-blog or not, but I will also be most definitely posting a recap. Other local bloggers who are disseminating the news about Darren’s next speaking gig include Philip Jeffrey (aka tyfn, from Fade to Play fame), TechVibes and of course the Public Relations Meetup.com site.

When? Tuesday, May 20, 2008, 7:00 PM
Where? Century House Restaurant & Bar
432 Richards Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 3L5
604.633.2700

About 94 people have RSVP’d so I suggest that if you haven’t done your RSVP you do so REALLY SOON. I will be attending, and to make it easy for you to spot me, I’ll be wearing a name tag with my name and my blog’s address 🙂 No, I haven’t made business cards yet. Not sure if I want to 😉 But for sure, if you read my blog and we haven’t met in person, by all means come and say “hi“. I don’t bite (unless asked to, of course, hehehehe).

Comments»

1. miss604 - May 18, 2008

I am also a media partner and have prizes to give away 🙂

2. luc - May 18, 2008

Vancouver Metbloggers meet on Tue. at 7:30… I hate choices, let’s see who offers a bigger prize, given that miss604 is a member of both 🙂

3. Darren Barefoot - May 18, 2008

Thanks for the write-up. I must go prepare slides, and such.

4. Raul - May 19, 2008

@ Rebecca – Post has been edited to reflect this. Sorry! You know it’s been a hell of a week!

@ Luc – I am not a member of Van MetBloggers, so… 😉

@ Darren – Look forward to your talk!

5. Third Tuesday May 2008 - Darren Barefoot’s talk « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - May 21, 2008

[…] under: Third Tuesday, Vancouver, blogosphere, local events — Raul @ 12:50 am I said that I was possibly going to live-blog Darren Barefoot’s talk, but truth be told, I did not get wi-fi in the area of the restaurant […]


Leave a Reply

