jump to navigation

Trout Lake, the Farmers Market and bloggers on the loose May 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, Commercial Drive, East Vancouver, food for thought, friends, local business, local events, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

Trout Lake
A view of Trout Lake. Photo credit: Me 😉

When Nancy asked me whether I’d like to check out the Farmers Market at Trout Lake, I jumped at the possibility and immediately said YES. We hadn’t had a chance to hang out in a while and I always enjoy our conversations, so I headed out to meet Nancy at The End Cafe and then we walked to the Farmers Market at Trout Lake.

I took lots of photos thinking that I could use them to write a review of the park for Miss604’s Park Series, but as it turns out, Rebecca has already written a thorough and comprehensive post on Trout Lake. So I’m just going to ask you to mosey over there and then come back. Done? Ok, now I can continue with my recap. Yes, I’ve been doing a lot of fun activities lately, but I just didn’t want to let this particular post stay in my archives for too long, as it fulfills several purposes.

First, it answers Chris’ question – YES, I *did* blog about it. As I mentioned before…”bloggers are people, we do what we do… and then we blog about it“.

Second, it allows YOU my dear readers to check the beautiful scenery I enjoyed this early afternoon.

Third, it allows ME to feel a bit less guilty about not providing content over the long weekend.

Fourth, it is a nice link to my next post, which is a short summary of a conversation I had with Nancy (and that I have had with everybody who means something to me and with whom I’ve had a significant amount of time to talk about): my mantra of ALWAYS being amazed at something, EVERY single day.

Trout Lake
More Trout Lake. Photo credit: Me 🙂

The sheer beauty of some of Vancouver’s inner city locations still blows me away. The most embarrassing thing is that I had to admit to my lovely friend Monica Hamburg that in 12 years, I had NEVER been to Trout Lake. However, I am glad I was able to walk around there with Nancy and that we bumped into Chris and Monica.

Trout Lake
This little “jump, jump and take a poem” made my day 🙂

Is there anything better than spending a couple of hours sharing some good laughs and great interesting and intellectual conversations with people you care about? Or playing Rock Band? Or going out for dinner? Or just simply hanging out? I would say, very, very little.

Comments»

1. nancy (aka money coach) - May 17, 2008

These are the kinds of days and gentle experiences that make life worth living, yes?
Thanks for being delightful company!
(and for blogging about the little inner-urban-treck!)

2. Teresa - May 17, 2008

Hi Raul, to bad I didn’t know you guys were heading over there. I live just down the street and went there this morning. Found some really great goat cheese too. 🙂

3. Raul - May 17, 2008

@ Nancy – 🙂 Most definitely.

@ Teresa – Ooops sorry I should have Tweeted it 🙂

4. Almost Perfect Day « Studio YVR - May 17, 2008

[…] a latte and then schelpped over to the PC to spend some time reading my fave blogs.  Miss 604 and Raul had some interesting posts on local places of interest and Torn recounted how me met his partner […]

5. Phaedra - May 18, 2008

I love TRout Lake, and I take it the summer market is up and running. Your photos turned out beautifully!

6. Supporting the UBC Farm struggles through Web 2.0 « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - June 10, 2008

[…] thoughts, sustainability, urbanization — Raul @ 10:27 am Tags: ubc farm, urbanization At the recent Trout Lake Farmers’ Market, I was chatting with Andrew (who volunteers with the UBC Farm), and he reminded of their continuous […]


Leave a Reply

