jump to navigation

Repeating or exploring: The intrinsic challenges May 18, 2008

Posted by Raul in dining out, food for thought, friends, local business, personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
trackback

I’ve been having a bloody awesome time these past few days. Lots of good times with my great friends.
However, with the exception of a dessert place that will be appearing in my blog in the next little while, I’ve almost always done repeats of places where I know FOR SURE I’m going to enjoy food and drinks. I never have any problem having a great time with my friends. Along with my family, my friends are my life, they keep me sane and provide me with plenty of opportunities for shared laughter and joy. But lately I have discovered that I don’t really feel much like exploring new avenues. Dinner, brunch, lunch and coffee have almost been at venues that are already very trusted.

That’s kind of problematic for someone whose blog is relatively popular for (amongst other things) having LOTS of restaurant/coffee shop/dessert places reviews. I don’t really know how to solve this. For example, this weekend alone – it’s Sunday morning and I’ve already been to La Bodega for dinner with some of the bloggers, Arms Reach Bistro for brunch with JT, Incendio West for dinner with C/B/L, The Red Sea Cafe for dinner and drinks at The Whip with H/C/A/M, and I’m planning to do burgers on Monday at The Red Onion with another group of friends (K/L/R/W). Notice a trend? All of these are places that have received glowing reviews from me!

I do feel terribly conflicted. On the one hand, I don’t want to have many more experiences like I had with India Bistro or Las Margaritas, but on the other hand, I won’t know if I like a place until I try it. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I feel a sense of attachment to the places where I know I’m going to have a good time. Heck, I even told Rebecca that next time we go for lunch in Yaletown, we are directly headed to Salsa and Agave! What to do? *sigh* Anyhow, sorry for wasting your time with this post, but honestly, it IS something I do consider. Suggestions, as always on my blog, very well accepted.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

