jump to navigation

Blog when/if/because you want to May 23, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

Celebrations May 17 2008-11



With a special dedication to those of you (you know who you are) who feel like they need a break from blogging and social media.

This week has been absolutely exhausting. I’ve been to several social media events. While (as anybody who saw me at these events can attest) I have really enjoyed them, doing all this stuff, covering VIDFEST 2008 and Convergence 2008 as media, has left me really tired. Thus, I’m going to take a page of my blogging mentors and suggest that you blog/schmooze/socialize when/if/because you want to. Right now, I need to take a break and go from being the hummingbird to the polar bear. I am, as always, available if you need a friend, but for the time being, I think I’m going to just lay low for a bit.

May (don’t hold your breath on this) make a really, really brief appearance at VIDFEST but unlikely. I am on my way to lunch with a very good friend and tonight we’re celebrating another friend’s PhD defense AND afterwards, hanging out with other buddies. Tomorrow, Saturday morning will probably be a Raul morning (although Ianiv and Arieanna and I had talked about going to Eat Vancouver, but not sure right now – feeling really tired). Saturday night drinks with J, B, H and C. Sunday morning potential brunch with C, B and L and Sunday evening my traditional JT evening.

There will be content throughout the weekend, though – Hat tips and props to Rebecca for all her help AND blogging tips, but THIS one is particularly useful – write your posts and then queue them. Thank you “Publish on DATE / TIME” function on WordPress.

Comments»

1. TylerIngram - May 23, 2008

Busy aren’t you? I’m impressed with all the social media/networking events you attend. Good job! I was going to mention that you could timestamp your post for future dates that way you can have posts throughout the day.

2. Raul - May 23, 2008

Yeah Tyler, I’m pretty busy but I was actually writing this post to remind myself that I should not let this burn me out. You should do some of these events!

3. Stephen Rees - May 23, 2008

I do that delay thing when I have a press release with an embargo. I blog because I need to get a message out – and often that is in response to something I have read or seen. But I have not noticed any decline in traffic when I am not posting regularly or not finding much significant to say.

There seem to be more events than I can cover, so I am happy to leave that others. There is nothing wrong with taking a break – you will come back fresher and with more to say


Leave a Reply

