jump to navigation

The Vancouver Bloggers Meetup for end of May 2008 May 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

The always lovely Isabella Mori has invited me to be Assistant Organizer for Vancouver Bloggers Meetup. I have previously praised the concept of meetups in Vancouver as I had found that this city was frequently referred to as rather “aloof” or “toxic”.

Funny enough, my very first live-blog was that of a Vancouver Bloggers Meetup in January, the first one I attended, which took place at Our Town Cafe [SIDE NOTE – I *love* Our Town Cafe – I’ve been to a couple of events here, and the owners are really nice and very accomodating]. After re-reading my liveblog, I hate it.

I am currently a member of four meetups:
Vancouver Bloggers Meetup [which I am currently co-organizing with Isabella Mori]
Vancouver Podcasting Network which is co-organized by Marina.
Vancouver Net Tuesday which is organized by Joe Solomon.
Third Tuesday Vancouver which is co-organized by Tanya, Monica and I think Tod too.

We are also hoping to start a Vancouver WordPress meetup, something that Rastin, Jenn and I had already talked about after the tremendous success of Vancouver WordCamp 2008.

I have started contacting different venues to hold the meetup, although it looks like the month has been so crammed that it might be a little bit difficult. But will not be impossible, that’s for sure. With the glorious weather that we have been having lately, who knows – maybe the May meetup will be at English Bay! Hehehe (just half-kidding).

Comments»

1. Anna - May 26, 2008

Hi Raul!
Thanks for blogging about this. I just joined the meet-up group 🙂 yay!
For French meet up, we meet at La Luna cafe in Gastown, and it’s quite a good venue. I’m not sure how many people you’re looking for the venue to hold, but La Luna is great, and they usually keep the cafe open past their regular hours for meet-ups!

2. Rebecca - May 27, 2008

WordPress meetups or WordCamps are in such demand that I think a large venue and unconference-style structure is in order.

3. nancy (aka money coach) - May 28, 2008

Hey Raul – Blackwater Cafe on Carrall St (gastown – by Irish Heather/Blarneystone) has offered their place too – they’d make it a private event and close up except for us. Wifi and nice panini’s, desserts, coffees (fair trade). Parking may be tricky though.

4. Raul - May 29, 2008

@ Anna – Welcome to the group!

@ Rebecca – Yeah, we gotta get on that 🙂

@ Nancy – I’ll definitely go and check it out. I don’t think many people go to the meetups by car, mostly by transit. And Blackwater is really accessible by transit.


Leave a Reply

