jump to navigation

Flip Camera Video Training May 28, 2008

Posted by Raul in videoblogging, vlogging.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Not quite a live-blog, but I plan to report back on the training session (I just read on Twitter that this training session was SOLD OUT! Congrats to Reachd.com!) wher I will learn how to use the Flip camera I won 🙂 Check back soon. Also, I now have accounts with Vimeo and YouTube.

UPDATE 3:00pm – We had a short break at the seminar, had a chance to chat briefly with Rob Lewis from TechVibes and with Stephen Jagger from Reachd. Rodney is a really good presenter AND he knows his stuff inside out. We are about to start playing with the cameras.

UPDATE 4.20pm – We are over 2/3 of the session. It has been incredibly useful. The Flip camera is super easy to use. The seminar itself has taught me a lot about YouTube, AdWords, the whole SEO world. Very useful tips were provided on how to disseminate your video, really get it out to a lot of places.

Quick notes
– Important to do social networking and social bookmarking.
– Make your video short, good content, valuable to the viewer.
– Learn how to use Digg, Reddit, Delicious.
– You can use Facebook for videos (seems strange, but true!)

I will be uploading a quick video I did of the session using the Flip camera. It was my first attempt so please be kind. It will be uploaded to YouTube and then embedded here.

COMMENTS ON THE VENUE

I was very pleasantly surprised that even though Ceili’s Irish Pub is a rather large venue, the third-floor meeting room was quite private and comfortable.

Comments»

1. Tanya (aka NetChick) - May 28, 2008

Congrats on the camera and the win!! 🙂 Sounds like you are getting a ton out of the seminar!

Hey, how big is the meeting room at Ceili’s?

2. Steve Jagger - Reachd - May 28, 2008

Hi Raul,
Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

@ Tanya – the room fits about 20 sitting at tables, 45 without.

Steve

3. Raul - May 29, 2008

@ Tanya – Thanks 🙂 As for Ceili’s room, as Steve says, 20 sitting, and yeah maybe 45 without the tables. But the place is good, most definitely.

4. First experiments with Flip video « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - June 3, 2008

[…] recently entered a contest organized by Reachd and TechVibes, where I won a Flip camera. Last week, I attended the training session on how to use the Flip. It was really fun, the instructor was really good and I learned a lot. One of the things that […]

5. Jim - June 27, 2008

Hi,

I have been using the flip camera to produce short messages to coworkers. However, I just ran into an issue. We run wmv files here so on the Flip I use the save as email function. On some computers this works fine and there are no issues. However, on a couple of my other computers it compresses the audio files so that on playback they are very fast while the video runs at normal speed. By any chance was this mentioned in the seminar and did they provide a solution?

6. Raul - June 27, 2008

Hi Jim,

I normally don’t save as e-mail, but I save them on my computer. The compression issue didn’t happen to me, and no it wasn’t mentioned in the seminar – but I am guessing Flip should have a customer help link on their site. Since they’re only available in the US at the moment, from what I understood, there might not be a lot of help available in Canada. Sorry I can’t help more 😦

7. Heads up for 2 upcoming Vancouver tech/blogging events « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 21, 2008

[…] about Steve, you can read Rebecca’s fantastic Blogger Profile series. I had the pleasure of attending one of Steve’s seminars earlier this year — pretty […]


Leave a Reply

