jump to navigation

Bar review – Stella’s (Commercial Drive) June 2, 2008

Posted by Raul in Commercial Drive, dining out, drinks, East Vancouver, friends, local business, Vancouver.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Stella's

Lately, I’ve been a bit more of a hermit. I fainted recently and that was an alarm signal for me. My energy levels are usually through the roof and I’m never one to say “no” to any invitations. However, this past Sunday I had to miss an invitation to a Tweetup organized by Colleen Coplick to meet Tris Hussey. That was on Sunday evening, which was unfortunate as I had some personal matters to tend to. But on Saturday, I did manage to get myself out of the house and meet with my friend AF.

We tend to be more kind of “fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants” whenever we hang out, so we settled for a leisurely walk on Saturday afternoon around Trout Lake, followed by a couple of drinks at Stella’s on Commercial Drive. I had heard mixed reviews about Stella’s, but after having had a drink and some Belgian fries there, I am not going to complain.

Stella's

The beer was somewhat on the side of expensive, but since this seemed to be gourmet beer, and AF seemed to like it, I won’t complain. My drink, I think was a Choc O9 Late (Absolut Vodka, White Cacao, Belgian Chocolate) but with amaretto. The drink (a double per my request) was lovely and I got a great buzz. We shared a cone of Belgian fries. The patio is nice although not much of a view (I was looking at the back side of the Grandview Park).

As usual, the company was what made the drinks taste better. I really enjoy “impromptu” hanging out opportunities with friends (when I have the time and can attend!). The thing is, I’m slowly learning to just do the things I have the physical energy, the time, money and resources to attend.

Comments»

1. Ryan Cousineau - August 5, 2008

You’ll never regret trying the Gulden Draak, even at its relatively steep per-bottle price.

On the other hand you can get that from the LDB, too. So next time, try the mussels. The frites are available as a discounted side, and moules frites plus beer is pretty much the Belgian national cuisine.

Don’t tell the guys at Chambar I said that.


Leave a Reply

