jump to navigation

Too much information meme – Raul’s answers June 5, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, friends, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Always lovely and mindful of how busy I have been, Rebecca had decided not to tag me for the “Too Much Information” meme that she got tagged on (originally I think Larry also tagged Matt Collinge AND Jonathon Narvey, so technically, at least three of my friends have now been tagged). Nevertheless, I figured that it would only be fair to voluntarily self-tag and here are my answers ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Who is your favorite musical artist?

I grew up in a household where the mother is a soprano, the father plays the guitar, and all five boys (e.g. us) play the piano. Therefore, I am very associated with classical music, and therefore Beethoven would be my favorite musical artist. Always the black sheep, I decided to switch to contemporary dance as my form of art, and from there, I went to salsa and tango. Thus, it is no wonder that some of the musical artists I like are Latin (please refrain from making the Ricky Martin/Enrique Iglesias joke – thank you). Finally, I *love* Canadian musicians – Matthew Good, Sarah McLachlan, Shania Twain, Chantal Kreviazuk, Avril Lavigne, and Jann Arden to mention just a few.

2. Who is your favorite artist?
I think that most respondents have referred to painters/sculptors in their responses. Following the same trend, I am a big fan of Renoir, Michelangelo, Van Gogh. Quite obviously given my heritage, I am also a big follower of Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera. Finally, I consider acting as a form of art (I am trained as a theatre actor) and thus I am also a big fan of Meryl Streep and the late Heath Ledger.

3. Who is your favourite blogger?
TMI. No, I’m just kidding. I don’t think I have a favourite blogger. I make a point of reading *at least* all the blogs in my blogroll, and the majority of those people are friends of mine in real life now. While my blogroll definitely needs some updating (particularly since I’ve started reading the blogs of new Twitter friends, both followers and reciprocal follows), I am usually pretty damn good at reading (and commenting) when I think I can add to the conversation, and no, I don’t think I can prioritize anyone and say “this is my favourite blogger”.

4. If you could meet anyone (alive or dead), who would it be and what is the most interesting thing about them?
This may sound like a really dumb answer, but I really would like to have met Albert Einstein. He was supposedly an outcast and his IQ tests were miserable, according to some reports I have read. I just would like to know how he would see the world as I know it. As for living people – I think I’ve met some wonderful people (famous actors, writers, politicians). That being said, I wouldn’t mind meeting Michaelle Jean in person, if anything just to ask her what does it feel to be such an iconic figure for Canada AND an immigrant.

5. What did you want to be when you grew up?
Originally, I was going to be a doctor. I am now a doctor, but of a different kind, hehehe. My parents were incredibly patient with me. They put me through lessons for everything. I studied library science, criminology, interior design, chemistry, you name it. I think my financial debt to my parents for my education is ranging in the six figures realm now.

6. What is the most interesting piece of trivia you know?
Well, not sure if it is interesting to YOU but it is interesting to me. Did you know that the two major fears of every human (the only fears with which we are born) are the fear to loud noises and the fear of falling? Of course, you could add a third (the fear of making a loud noise when falling).

7. If you could live in any point in history when would it be and why?
My ex was a historian, so I always got asked this question, and my response is always the same: France in the late 1700s. Did you know that the Declaration of Rights was signed in 1789? What made the French people at the time decide that all men (and women) are all equal? (mind you, the actual wording seems to refer only to men – how inappropriate!)

8. What is the most interesting job you have ever held?
I will have to say that hands down, being a professor (instructor, teacher, however you want to call it). I witnessed my students grow with every class, their self-esteem and confidence in the command they were gaining of the material. Learning about local issues and national issues and analyzing them through different theoretical frameworks and using different research strategies was always fun. Although, truth be told, being a bartender really does bring out a whole other side of me ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now, should I tag someone else? Nah – I’ll let you voluntarily self-tag. I am sure more than one of you will do it, sooner or later ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments»

1. Mel - June 5, 2008

Part of me is still a 12-year-old girl at heart, so I love memes. Of course, the part of me that his since grown up a bit prefers the memes with well-thought answers. It was good to read a little bit about you! (And I love love love Chantal Kreviazuk – one of my favourite Canadian musicians, tied with Emm Gryner. Also tied with Cรฉline Dion. Again, the 12-year-old girl thing.)

2. Raul - June 5, 2008

I’m glad you liked it ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. J. Karen Parker » Blog Archive » Too Much Information - June 9, 2008

[…] mostly been sitting inside feeling annoyed about the weather, so no excuses anymore! Raul posted a meme the other day and I’m going to go ahead and answer the questions […]


Leave a Reply

