jump to navigation

An open letter to the weather Powers-That-Be… June 6, 2008

Posted by Raul in climate change, random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags:
trackback

Dear Weather Powers-That-Be:

It’s been a while since I had to have a heart-to-heart with you. So far these past few weeks, even with the limited down time I have had, I didn’t need to have to wear rain gear whenever I went out. Had the opportunity to roam around Vancouver, Burnaby, North and West Vancouver. I even ventured as far as New Westminster one day! All because of the good weather.

Now, these past couple of days have been really rainy and miserable. My thinking immediately was that you might have forgotten what the Metro Vancouver area looks like with good weather. So I thought I’d offer you a few visual reminders. Please bring back the sun. Ok, thanks. Bye.

Trout Lake

Miscellaneous

BurnabyVisit-17

Lighthouse Park West Vancouver

Comments»

1. TylerIngram - June 6, 2008

Heya Raul I assume you took those shots huh? Where did that weather go? I saw the sun peak out behind the clouds for like 5 minutes just before my lunch, not enough for me to enjoy it anyway.

What sort of camera do you use?

2. Raul - June 6, 2008

Hey Tyler, yes – I took all of these shots. It’s a simple point-and-shoot camera (I wish I had a DSLR but I don’t have one!) Glad you like them 🙂

3. Susannah - June 6, 2008

It’s not their fault. Some part-time data-entry temp was entering “Jan” instead of “Jun”. They’ll eventually get it straightened out. (I hear they’re changing temp agencies.)

4. Raul - June 6, 2008

Phew 🙂 Good to know Susannah 🙂 By the way, I’ve found cajeta! On Commercial Drive, there’s a store. Good stuff, too.

5. Susannah - June 6, 2008

Mmmm, cajeta! I’ll tell the family.

BTW, again, I took my daughter to Salsa & Agave. You were right; the food is delicious! We both ate twice as much as we intended to.

6. keef - June 7, 2008

Well stated. I second the sentiment!
What does bother me though is all the people I hear EVERYWHERE who just prattle on saying things like “global warming, yeah right, haha, look at the weather”.

Climate change=unusual and erratic weather, not instant tropical weather.
But yeah, let’s get some more of those Vitamin D rays (protecting oneself from the harmful effects of course)!

7. Raul - June 8, 2008

@ Susannah – My new Mexican favorite restaurant is Salsa & Agave. It is delicious! I just hope that the success doesn’t go to the owners’ heads!

@ Keef – I know, I am looking forward to some real sun, not the joke we’ve been having lately.


Leave a Reply

