jump to navigation

Young People F**king and Pillow Talk – Sat Jun 14th June 11, 2008

Posted by Raul in link love, local events, movies, random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags: , ,
trackback

You may have read it on Rebecca’s blog as well, but I figured I’d contribute my grain of sand (that’s how we say it in Spanish). I received today an email from the organizers of Saturday’s June 14th screening & Pillow Talk of the movie “Young People F**king” (a Canadian movie that I will most likely go and see – although I’m fully booked on Saturday, so I can’t attend this particular event). The organizers are part of a non-profit organization called the First Weekend Club:

First Weekend Club is a non-profit organization that strives to build audiences for great Canadian films through grassroots initiatives such as special screenings, Q&As with talent, premiere parties, movie alerts and much more! First Weekend Club is a free cross Canada film club that encourages members to attend opening weekend screenings. Hence the name, First Weekend Club. [FWC website]

As it so happens, one of First Weekend Club’s Advisory Board members is one of my very favorite Canadian actors, Paul Gross. I want to see the movie not only because of Adam Abrams, Callum Blue and one of my favorite Vancouver actresses, Carly Pope (whom I have liked since Popular).

At first, I was somewhat taken aback by the fact that FWC wasn’t offering me free tickets to the premiere (something that every other Film Festival and/or movie premiere have offered me in the past), but I kind of understand what they’re trying to do – they are trying to make the opening night/weekend a financially-viable and successful event. Worthy cause, indeed.

Unfortunately, I can’t make it for Saturday, but I would encourage you all to go and then come tell me what you thought. I am an ardent supporter of Canadian film AND Canadian actors (especially Vancouver or BC actors – Callum Keith Rennie, Kristin Kreuk, Allison Mack, Carly Pope, the Ashmore twins, Aaron and Shawn) – thus, you can rest assured that there will be indeed a review of YPF. I know for a fact that Beth has already seen it, so you can ask her what she thought…

Comments»

1. Marina - June 11, 2008

Welcome to the club Raul! šŸ˜›

I’m not able to make it this weekend either but these events are always fantastic so I’m expecting it’ll be good fun. And to boot, the movie is good fun! šŸ™‚

2. Phaedra - June 12, 2008

I think I am going to go see YPF this Sat. Pretty stoked to see it.

3. Raul - June 12, 2008

@ Marina – Thank you šŸ™‚

@ Phaedra – I’m envious! šŸ˜‰

4. raincoaster - October 22, 2008

Their events really are awfully good.


Leave a Reply

