jump to navigation

The Twitter lost followers June 15, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am not really that silly to think that when someone unfollows me, it’s because there’s something personal. There are LOTS of reasons why people unfollow me. Sometimes, they need a Twitter-break (“you know, we need to get a Twitter break until you get your tweets under control”). Sometimes, they just think I’m not tweeting what they want/need. In reality, I don’t mind. I try to follow back as much as possible (unless I really physically can’t handle all that many tweets).

Even when I am not following reciprocally, I ALWAYS make a point to talk to my followers. ALL. THE. TIME. I am not a snob, and I am definitely NOT a Twitter snob. So when I started losing followers, I was a bit taken aback. I am sweet, I write what I think is fairly decent content. So why am I losing followers? Hez pointed me out to this article that says it’s maybe Twitter’s fault. Fine. I just don’t want to be worried about it. I write this blog AND my tweets for myself, but I’d be a bit worried if it was because of something I said. I have always believed in the value of good content, and I’d be worried if my followers weren’t very happy with what I write. Just a reflection… not a worry 🙂

Comments»

1. Jan - June 15, 2008

Interesting post. Fist off, I love reading your blog and twitts, especially the ones on restaurants because I love to eat. 🙂

As for myself, I’m still fairly new to Twitter (only been about 1.5 months I believe) and am still a bit uncertain as to what I should or shouldn’t write on there. I don’t think what I write about is interesting or of value to other followers (at least for the time being). So I’ve became more of a mute and only post once a day or every few days. I hope this won’t give people the impression that I’m not sociable or dislike talking to them. I just haven’t figured out where I fit in the world of twitter yet.

2. luc - June 15, 2008

I didn’t get caught into Twitter-mania at all, but I’d hope that the loss of followers that you’re experiencing is nothing personal, but a global trend, that people are untwittering. If Google is making us us stupid, as Nick Carr wrote, then imagine what Twitter does in terms of distraction.
The multitasking virus must be eradicated!


Leave a Reply

