jump to navigation

Car-Free Festival: Reporting back on Main Street June 16, 2008

Posted by Raul in Car Free Day, Car Free Festival, Focus on Vancouver, local events, Main Street, Mount Pleasant.
Tags:
trackback

The Car-Free Festival: Main Street Edition was very much a lot of fun. My friend Karen Parker was volunteering for the West End one, but I wasn’t really much in the mood to swing by (and I had to finish inserting a few references in EndNote). [Sorry Karen!]

For me, eating cotton candy is one of those things that transports me back to a wonderful childhood. I hadn’t had a chance to eat cotton candy since I was 20, so this tasted like a little piece of heaven! I was also very touched by the fact that young kids were helping out and making the cotton candy.

Car Free Festival Main Street

I wanted cotton candy… so they were kind and gave me one!

Main Street was closed between 12th Avenue and 16th Avenue (thank you and kudos to the Vancouver Police Department, the City of Vancouver Fire Department and all other local support, because it was VERY well protected. I felt really safe walking there, thanks to road closures and having an ambulance standing by!). Another really cool element was an exhibition of many different modes of transportation with bikes.

Car Free Festival Main Street

You need balance to do this!

I had an opportunity to speak with a number of people in different booths, which was REALLY cool. Some of them had already read my blog! YAY! Furthermore, there were a lot of exhibits that showcased the amazing stuff we have on Main Street, including the Happy Bats Cinema (who offered veggie dogs, popcorn and soda by donation!). I mean, how cool is that?

The music was fantastic, and I made a point of listening to musicians on all three stages. This photo is from the main stage (on 13th Avenue)

Car Free Festival Main Street

I plan to write more detailed posts with focus on each one of the booths/businesses that were showcased, but in the mean time, I know you want to check my Flickr account for more photos, so go there right now 🙂

SIDE NOTES – Some other local bloggers also have done reviews/links/photos of Car-Free Festival. Do you mind dropping a comment and I’ll update this post as I get the links? 🙂 Thanks!

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - June 16, 2008

I was at the Denman one briefly. Though I haven’t posted anything about it. It almost reminded me of the Fireworks with how busy it was there. Only photo I took though was of a barricade with the car free day sign 🙂

2. Marina - June 16, 2008

I was going to make my way out to Commercial Dr. for the festivities but never managed to leave the house. Dad did go out to watch the game and brought back some fabulous Portuguese BBQ care of the nice folks at the PCOV!

3. Anna - June 17, 2008

Hey that picture you have is of the Fur Bearing Animals 🙂 These guys are great! Although I wasn’t able to make it out to Car Free Day on Main St., I saw them earlier in the week at the Media Club!


Leave a Reply

