jump to navigation

My summer commitment June 20, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life.
trackback

I was having a conversation with Beth last night about competitive sports. She plays hockey, I play volleyball. At the moment, I play Competitive I (which is the second highest level) but I do recognize that I need to commit to do something about my skill set.

As Beth was explaining to me what she thought she needed, I discovered that we need to focus on similar stuff. In my case, I need practice time (e.g. time on the court) and drills (which means, I need someone to coach me).

I have been playing a combined second-setter/second power-hitter in a 5-1 formation, which is at the moment slightly annoying because I am not ambi-dexterous, so my hitting on position 2 (when I’m second-setter) is not optimal. My blocking, though, is much better, so I think I’ll just have to work on more block/hit drills, jumping, etc.

I know for a fact that I will never go back to the extremely high competitive level I used to have in high-school and the early years of university, but at least, I want to feel improvement and power. Trust me, hitting a few balls on the volleyball court does wonders for channelling your anger and frustration ๐Ÿ™‚

Skillz. Raul has them ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - June 20, 2008

I miss volleyball. I haven’t played since Highschool and i don’t play now because I severed my achilles tendon and it was recommending I don’t currently do anything sudden movement changes until I build back up the strength of it.

I want to do beach volleyball this year though that would be fun!

2. Teresa - June 20, 2008

I really miss volleyball too. I played center blocker for my high school team.

3. Raul - June 21, 2008

@ Tyler – Beach is tougher on your Achilles Tendon. I am planning to do grass vball though!.

@ Teresa – In high school, with my internal team, I was a center blocker too, but with the junior state and pre-national team, I was a second setter.


Leave a Reply

