jump to navigation

Movie review – Get Smart June 22, 2008

Posted by Raul in movies.
Tags: ,
trackback

You’d have to have watched the 60’s TV show to understand the movie, but even if you hadn’t watched any of the episodes, you’ll still love Get Smart, in my humble opinion. I recommend NOT to read the Wikipedia entry until you’ve seen the movie.

I was quite surprised with the chemistry between Steve Carell and Anne Hathaway. Their chemistry was as good as the original Agent 86 and Agent 99. I was also pleasantly surprised with Hathaway playing an action heroine. Given that most of the karate-chop-wielding actresses I like are already well known for their athletic prowess (Uma Thurman, Lucy Liu, Jennifer Garner, Angelina Jolie, Cameron Diaz and even Drew Barrymore), I was very shocked to see Anne Hathaway kicking the heck out of the bad guys.

Even more pleasantly surprised with Dwayne Johnson (formerly known as “The Rock”). He was most definitely engaging in the movie, and made me forget all of his awful previous roles. Overall, I really loved this movie. There were parts where I could simply not stop laughing, I cried a couple of times because I was laughing so hard.

Comments»

1. luc - June 23, 2008

laughing – check
crying – check
action – check
nudity – ?

2. Raul - June 23, 2008

@ Luc – No actual real nudity, there’s a moment where you can *almost* see a tiny bit of Anne Hathaway, but no, not really. šŸ™‚

3. Tyler Ingram - June 23, 2008

I want to see this movie. I used to watch Get Smart! And I think that Steve portraits him well in the trailers anyway lol

4. Raul - June 23, 2008

@ Tyler – You *have* to see the movie, you’ll get a kick out of everything, including the cone of silence and the shoe phone šŸ™‚

5. don - June 23, 2008

Who is Steve Carey?

6. Raul - June 23, 2008

@ Don – Sorry! Made a mistake. It’s Steve Carell. I am fixing the post as I type this šŸ™‚ Thanks for spotting the typo!

7. Marina - June 23, 2008

I simply couldn’t convince myself to see this. I didn’t laugh at the trailers and I certainly wasn’t prepared to shell out $12 to see it (I’ll save my money for “Mongol” thank-you-very-much). That all said, I’ve read and heard a number of people I trust really enjoyed it and a common statement is that the chemistry between Carell and Hathaway works.

I’m still not convinced but if I get *really* bored next weekend (I doubt it considering we have “Wall-E” and “Wanted” on the horizon) I might slip into it.

8. Raul - June 23, 2008

@ Marina – I will have to confess that my good friend JT was the one who bought the tickets so I didn’t shell out the cash. But he enjoyed it just as much as I did, and we both were literally having stomach cramps from laughing so hard.

It’s showing in Van East Cinema if you don’t want to shell the $12 šŸ™‚ And yeah, I do like the Van East Cinema. I know that people may look down on it, but heck it’s a good movie theatre.

9. Barbara Doduk - June 23, 2008

Raul, thanks for the review. I will wait for rentals on this one, even though I do like all the actors. My co-worker looks just like The Rock… anyhoo, like the new layout. Sorry I’ve been busy dealing with my life and haven’t been around to read blogs.

Cheers!

10. Raul - June 24, 2008

@ Barbara – It’s a good movie, though! šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

