jump to navigation

My new header, with thanks to Miss604 :-) June 24, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, friends, geekifying myself, Redesigning my blog, technology, wordpress.
Tags: ,
trackback

Since last week, Rebecca Bollwitt and I have been chatting about the feedback I got from Jordan Behan and Boris Mann re: the header of my site last week. Jordan, Rebecca and Boris agree: my blog *needs* to reflect the concept of ME… sort of “this is Raul – and this is what Raul is all about“.

After last week’s blog re-design, I’ve got a lot of positive responses to the new layout, but the header of the blog still kept feeling somewhat … how to put it… STILL NOT ME. Since the new header image was a modification of the standard image in this blog, it didn’t really reflect ME. Rebecca thought about the header for a while and came up with the one that is currently on the blog.

I’ll discuss more about the blog re-design in further posts, but instead of telling YOU what the changes are, I’d like you to tell ME – what do you think? If you have met me in person (or even if you haven’t) … does it reflect who I am? Thanks first of all to Rebecca for the hard work in creating the header, and to you my readers for providing the feedback πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - June 24, 2008

I thought the hummingbird with the leaves was a pretty cool idea since you seem to be in the environmental studies sort of field.

The only thing that sort of bugs me is the squareness of the header links you have. Though the rest of the site is squarish too but that aspect doesn’t bother me. It does looks better than the original wordpress incantation of your blog though πŸ™‚ keep it up!

2. gusf - June 24, 2008

I like the interesting use of the leaves to create a hummingbird. I know you are β€œgreen” and are very environmentally conscious.

Your blog flows nicely and it is easier to read.

Great Job!

3. Rebecca - June 24, 2008

@Tyler – again, limited by WP.com … so when are you going to get self-hosting light Raul? πŸ˜‰

4. Mel - June 24, 2008

Well, we haven’t actually met, but I think this reflects what I do know about you. And it’s quite snazzy.

5. Raul - June 24, 2008

@ Tyler – Yeah, that’ll be solved when I go self-hosting light πŸ™‚

@ GusF – Thanks! I am glad you like it!

@ Rebecca – Most likely this week? πŸ™‚

@ Mel – Thanks! I am glad you like it!

6. Phaedra - June 24, 2008

Lookin’ good!

7. Tyler Ingram - June 24, 2008

@Rebecca I keep forgetting this is self-hosted.

@Raul – It’s going to be cool to be self-hosted! So many options! muahahah! But you do have great friends here in the blogosphere who are always around to help, especially Rebecca!

8. Tyler Ingram - June 24, 2008

@Rebecca Err that this isn’t self-hosted.. where is my edit button? lol

9. Jodi - June 24, 2008

I love it!

10. Raul - June 25, 2008

@ Phaedra – Thanks! Hey when do I see you next?

@ Tyler – I know! It’s just that I want to take baby steps. Thanks for the offer to help!

@ Jodi – Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

11. Jan - June 25, 2008

Hey Raul,

I really like the new header and the smart design of the bird using leafs. Oh and good to see more restaurant reviews! πŸ™‚

12. Peter - June 25, 2008

Hi Raul,

The new header looks great!

Peter

13. Raul - June 26, 2008

@ Jan – Thanks! I am rolling out a few restaurant reviews that were in the backburner!

@ Peter – Thanks! I do feel that it is more ME. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

