jump to navigation

Friendship is more than online connections June 25, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags:
trackback

A couple of days ago, I had what I would say was one of the most fun times in a long while. While I have enjoyed many other events that I will be talking about in future posts, this particular one did remind me a lot of why I blog and how much I enjoy spending time with bloggers OUTSIDE the blogosphere. Rebecca and I met after work for a coffee, and while waiting for John, we sat down in a bench in Yaletown. We chatted about everything and anything, mostly about non-blogging stuff, and while trying to take a self-portrait photo of the two of us, I think I mentioned that my camera had video.

We found ourselves giggling incessantly for like 2 minutes. We were trying to film a serious “Hello there, this is Miss604 and Hummingbird604 and we’re in Yaletown” kind of video, but I have to admit that I succumbed to giggling and laughter. I had to cut the good times short as I was running to attend SteakCamp but as I was making my way towards the bus, I just relished the moment, and reflected about the fact that it’s those moments, when I am within friends whom I’ve met in the blogosphere, when I play Rock Band, or share a drink, when I sit at a coffee shop during a Vancouver Bloggers Meetup, when I have brunch at the Nice Cafe, when we try a different restaurant each time we have lunch, when I go to movies, when I am in a quaint little East Side steak-and-potatoes restaurant… those are some of the best the moments that I cherish. As I Tweeted a few days ago:

Blogging is what brought us together. It is up to us to maintain the relationships.

Thank you Rebecca. For everything that you’ve done for me on the blogosphere, but in particular, for your friendship and for such a great moment like the one I just described. Sharing a laugh with you is really, really fun. And thank you to all of you my good friends that I’ve made through blogging… My life is so much richer because I have YOU in it. You guys have reminded me that friendship is much more than online connections.

Comments»

1. Rebecca - June 25, 2008

Aw! What a nice message to wake up to 🙂 I really enjoyed out afternoon as well – it was one that didn’t involve a meetup or even a restaurant review but simply “hang out time” and that’s what made it so great. (Not that I don’t like those other things though hehe

2. isabella mori - June 26, 2008

i LIKE your new design, especially the leafy hummingbird!

one of these days it would be interesting to discuss this whole connectedness thing from the point of view of people who are introverts.

at any rate, raul, you are the quintessential connector! and connector from the heart, not just business-card-hander-outer. (don’t you love my command of the english language?)


Leave a Reply

