jump to navigation

Geek-wear: Funky t-shirts for your inner geek June 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, geekifying myself, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

While enjoying the company of Rebecca, Arieanna, Nadia and Tod, we were joking about the various geeky t-shirts around (inspired by Tod’s awesome Web 2.0 t-shirt). Rebecca herself wrote an awesome post about girl geek t-shirts (or lack thereof?)

If you have been reading my blog say, for the past year, you’ll know that I have learned a lot from scratch and I don’t like anybody to do things for me, I prefer to learn how to do them. I appreciate the help of my geek friends but I like to do my own stunts. I want to be semi-geeky, if you might. Don’t change my CSS, teach me how to do it. That kind of stuff.

I can’t recall if it was Rebecca who commented that there might be a geek t-shirt that I could find for the phrase “I do my own stunts” but I couldn’t find it. Nevertheless, let me tell you what I DID find: a geek t-shirt that seems custom made for me (in case you didn’t know, my first degree is in chemical engineering).

think geek caffeine molecule
Photo credit: Think Geek.

[SIDE NOTE – The molecular structure shown is that of caffeine]

[SIDE NOTE – To prove that I do my own stunts, instead of downloading the image to my Flickr and then linking to it, I found the image location myself and inserted all the appropriate tags to have the photo link back directly to ThinkGeek’s website – how’s that for geekifying myself!]

So now, the question is on to YOU. What are your favorite geek t-shirts? Do you own any geek t-shirts?

Comments»

1. Rebecca - June 26, 2008

I like this one and this one and this one, which isn’t geeky but it’s a classic. OH… okay and this one.

2. Tyler Ingram - June 26, 2008

ThinkGeek.com has(had?) that one for Caffine.

I still like this one:

SELECT * FROM Users WHERE Clue > 0

Results Returned = 0

or

There are only 10 types of people who can read Binary. Those who can and those who cannot.

=-)

3. Tyler Ingram - June 26, 2008

Oh and this one too

There is no place like 127.0.0.1

hehe sorry ultra computer geeky 😉

4. inaequitas - June 26, 2008

I have a whole bunch of ThinkGeek shirts, from the wi-fi detector (thanks to a friend) to “I will not fix your computer” “You are dumb 2.0” and the classic “geek” shirt.

The next, natural step is making my very own geeky shirts. Always taking it up a notch 🙂

5. Darren - June 26, 2008

This is more of a literary geek t-shirt, but I’m found of it:

I <} Irony

That’s supposed to be a heart in the middle. Try explaining the subtleties of that shirt to non-English speakers. It was tricky when I lived in Malta.

6. Greg - June 26, 2008

My roommate has “There’s no place like 127.0.0.1” as our doormat. Among others (and many XL promo shirts received at LAN parties), I have this

Notable mention: two shirts from Apple HQ gift shop in Cupertino.

7. Jodi - June 26, 2008

I have a tshirt that says “I don’t need therapy, I need a Mac.” It’s too big, so my husband wears it now.
I have a shirt that says “Im blogging this.” Which I have always loved.
One that says “übergeek.” because who does not love umlauts?
But I guess my favorite are my blue yoga pants that say ‘GEEK” on the butt in light blue.

8. Andrew Kumar - June 26, 2008
9. Tania - June 26, 2008

I’ve got this one – it’s designed by a friend who’s a street artist in Toronto.

The only problem is that it’s a generational specific geek tshirt… I was out for brunch last week and the teenager behind the cash register didn’t get it. That sure made me feel old! 😛

10. Beth - June 29, 2008

I also have the “I’m blogging this” shirt, but my current favourite is: this one. This one isn’t geeky, but it’s awesome.

11. Raul - June 30, 2008

Thanks all for chiming in. I am totally thinking of the “I’m blogging this” for the next event I’ll be organizing – Vancouver Bloggers Meetup.

🙂

12. Fashion for male geeks « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 6, 2008

[…] what should I wear. Variables to consider – Yes, I’m a geek but I’m not going to wear a geek t-shirt. Not even to showcase my geek superpowers – I don’t want to wear long sleeves as the weather […]

13. Keith - November 5, 2008

My favourites are:
“There’s no place like 127.0.0.1”

“There are 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don’t.”

“Come to the dark side, we have cookies. –V”


Leave a Reply

