jump to navigation

A quick personal reflection on self-care June 27, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

I got home last night at around 9pm, exhausted after having spent time running around like a headless hummingbird, and even though I sat in front of my computer, I was simply unable to produce anything. I wanted to write up everything I had for the weekend, and not a single word came out. My brain was completely shutdown.

Even hummingbirds need to rest, and I am not the exception. These past few weeks, I’ve been talking to my friends, both on and off the blogosphere, about the fact that I have been pushing myself to extremes and sleeping very little. That’s not a sustainable position (not in the environmental sustainability sense, for the record, but in the sense of ‘sustaining’ – long term).

I need to take care of myself, and I plan to do so in the next little while. Please take no offense if I don’t respond quickly to emails, messages, phone calls, etc. I just want some time off. As I mentioned before, there will be some time-stamped posts in case anyone really cares to read, but for the most part, it is my absolute hope that I won’t be online this weekend. Enjoy yours!

Comments»

1. GusF - June 27, 2008

Have a great weekend Raul!
Relax as that is what weekends should be. I plan on doing that myself!
And if you need anything you know you can count on your friends and bloggers out there help you out.

2. Rob Cottingham - June 27, 2008

Take it easy, Raul. I’m on a kind of forced vacation myself. πŸ™‚

3. Raul - June 28, 2008

@ Gus and @ Rob – Thanks! πŸ™‚ I appreciate the support … this Web 2.0 is addictive 😦

Luckily I took the afternoon off and walked around Robson, did some shopping, etc.

Have a nice weekend!

4. Phaedra - June 29, 2008

Self care nutures our soul, keeps us balanced, and gives us a much needed break so we can start back where we left off.

I can make you some yummy aromatherapy bath salts . They work wonders.

Or perhaps I can entice you to come to yoga with me….it really works wonders in the self care department.

5. Raul - June 30, 2008

@ Phaedra – Your mere presence nurtures my soul. Although I would seriously consider yoga too πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

