jump to navigation

Thank you, O Canada! July 1, 2008

Posted by Raul in Canada, personal life.
Tags: ,
trackback

I moved to Canada nearly a decade ago, not knowing what was going to happen and uncertain about my future, funding for my degrees, and the life over here. All I knew is that I was leaving behind an incredibly annoying boss, a job that while I liked, was just extracting the life out of me, and a really strong social networks of friends, as well as my family.

I now have family all over North America, have lived in Europe and moved back to Canada, and every morning I wake up feeling free, happy and fulfilled. I have a LOT of Canadian friends, both born-Canadian and immigrants. At one of the gatherings I organized recently, I discovered that out of the six people in our table, NONE had been born in Canada.

I have fell in love with a Canadian, I have had my heart broken by a Canadian, and despite this, I love Canada. I love its multiculturalism. I love its freedom. I love its uniqueness. I love the fact that I have many Canadian friends, and many non-Canadian friends, all of whom I love dearly.

I am enthralled by what Canada has offered me, and while I am keenly aware of my roots and my origins, I am also very happy to be living in Canada. On your anniversary, thank you Canada for giving me so many opportunities for growth, for love, and for happiness. Happy Canada Day, everyone!

Comments»

1. Phaedra - July 1, 2008

Happy Canada Day! I will be at the rally at the Art Gallery if you’d like to come by and say hi 🙂

2. kurt - July 1, 2008

This is an interesting article about Canada ‘living’ the soul of the American Dream, and your post reminded me of it:

http://www.macleans.ca/canada/national/article.jsp?content=20080625_50113_50113

3. kurt - July 1, 2008

Oh, and and Happy Canada Day.

4. Dave - July 1, 2008

Nice post, Happy Canada Day!

5. lynedesroberts - July 1, 2008

Happy Canada Day to you also!

Although not very patriotic myself (I still have my roots in Quebec you see!), there are times I am a Canadian and, there are some other times, I am a Québécoise living in Ontario… BUT! All I know is that I consider myself fortunate to live in such a country where we are free to express ourselves… Some of my friends who now live in the U.S.A. say that Americans consider Canada as a boring country… Well! I’ll take BORING any time!

Great post!

6. Gus - July 1, 2008

Awesome post. I couldn’t have said it any better than you!

Happy Canada Day!

7. isabella mori - July 1, 2008

and here comes another fellow immigrant. like you, i have learned that i cannot deny my roots (german, with a good dose of russian) but this is where i LIVE. this is where my life happens. where i live in a big house because there is still lots of room, even in a worls class city like vancouver, where it’s totally normal that my daughter is part asian, part caucasian, and where, maybe, one day i can come to your wedding, my dear friend raul!

(oh my, this gets me all teary eyed. really)

8. Jodi - July 1, 2008

There is a song by the Dixie Chicks called Lullaby, I always think of a line from that song when I think of my Canadian husband.
“They didn’t have you where I come from.”

🙂

9. Keira-Anne - July 2, 2008

Hope you had a great Canada Day, Raul!


Leave a Reply

