jump to navigation

The CSS customization and going self-hosted “light” July 2, 2008

Posted by Raul in geekifying myself, Redesigning my blog, Web 2.0, wordpress.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

My WordPress-ification process has been quite intense, and it’s hard to juggle searching for a job, doing academic work, socializing AND trying to master WordPress. But right now I feel pretty good about it, and wouldn’t go back to the Blogger platform. The last time I posted something on Blogger I was actually kind of weirded out. “WHOA. It’s like I’ve never used this“.

This week (probably Thursday or Friday, as I want to stay away from the computer for a while), I am buying the CSS customization option for WordPress as I want to be able to tinker with the layout and the theme color scheme. Since I’ve been previously known to avoid the WordPress Codex, I figured this time I would follow the rules and go and read the Codex before I ask my friends “how do I go about this…

Both Rebecca and Andy wrote recently about themes, and Rebecca unveiled her awesome new theme just this week. But to be quite honest, I still had one question in my mind – what IS a theme?

A WordPress Theme is a collection of files that work together to produce a graphical interface with an underlying unifying design for a weblog.[WP Codex-Themes]

Yeah. RIIIIIGHT. The preceding paragraph proceeded to explain what a theme is in WPGeekSpeak. That’s the point where I realized one of the things that I hadn’t done (shame on me) ever – CHECK THE GLOSSARY. So I went to the Codex WordPress lesson semantics. Are themes the same as CSS? I have discovered that no, they’re not. I roamed around the glossary and semantics site for a while, and now I understand that by customizing the CSS (Cascading Style Sheets), I will be able to define colors, layouts, etc. The theme is more overarching, then…

I may request help to customize my CSS, but I also want to learn how to change it myself, because I don’t want to be a fake geek. I like being a true geek, and I like to do my own stunts. I am well aware that asking for help is one of my challenges, but thankfully, being a computer geek is complicated enough that I am always willing to ask someone to give me a hand. So, I hope that soon enough, you’ll see a different color scheme, although it may be a while for a change in theme!

Comments»

1. raincoaster - July 2, 2008

With the CSS upgrade you’ll be able to change the way your blog looks, but not the way it works. For instance, if you had the Hemingway theme, you wouldn’t be able to get rid of the More tag in every post. But if you use Sandbox, you can have an almost infinite variety of layout. Do a search of the forums for “Sandbox Contest” and you’ll find some threads with CSS skins designed for Sandbox. There’s an amazing variety. My blog, for instance, is Sandbox.

2. raincoaster - July 2, 2008

Also: yes, I’ve put Wordcamp Fraser Valley on the schedule. If I can get a ride, I’ll be there.


Leave a Reply

