jump to navigation

I want to convert you… to WordPress! July 7, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, geekifying myself, upcoming events, WordCamp, WordCamp Fraser Valley, wordpress.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

As I’ve posted before, I read pretty much every blog on my blogroll and then some. Thanks to a handy RSS feed reader, now I can do that in the blink of an eye, literally (I speed-read). However, I took some time to see who of my friends are still on Blogger (I am talking to you Barbara, Phaedra, Pat, Jennifer, Marina, Dan, Mitch, Sarah, to mention just a few).

If you’ve been reading my blog at all, you’ll know that I am speaking at WordCamp Fraser Valley, precisely on the topic of how I transitioned from Blogger to WordPress. I am in no way associated with WordPress, they don’t pay me a cent (although I do have friends who are indeed associated with Auttomatic).

The truth is that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed writing my blog on this platform. So, I’m basically plugging you to switch and since many of you Blogger friends are also my friends, friends, you should come to WCFV and hear me speak like Ulysses listened to the siren’s sweet voice “WoooordPreeeess…. WoooordPreeeess” (ok, that sounds better when I say it than when I read it).

So, join me and a roster of fabulous bloggers (Rebecca, John, Kerry, Kulpreet and yours truly) on July 16th, 2008 from 6-9pm. For more details, click on the link that says “I’m Speaking at WordCamp Fraser Valley“. And in case you didn’t know, the registration is almost full so, you REALLY want to register as in, like, right now.

Comments»

1. TylerIngram - July 7, 2008

I’ll be there and look forward to hearing why you made the switch!

2. Beth - July 7, 2008

I would go to WCFV if only I weren’t going to be on a fabulous vacation that day.

But I converted from Blogger to WP awhile back and I can assure all you hummingbird604 readers out there who haven’t yet taken the plunge – it’s worth it!

3. Marina - July 8, 2008

Unfortunately, I’m not going to make the trip but I look forward to *someone* live blogging the event – not sure who considering the two best of the bunch are on the panel!

4. Erika Rathje - July 8, 2008

I’m not in Surrey anymore otherwise it would be oh-so-convenient! But I’m a Movable Type gal anyway. But I do encourage the migration away from Blogger — while easy to use (I started there), reading Blogger blogs without RSS is just a pain in the butt. 😦


Leave a Reply

