jump to navigation

Movie review – Juno July 9, 2008

Posted by Raul in random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

I’ve always been a fan of Ellen Page, but was really disappointed at the fact that I couldn’t get to see it with the friends that I usually hang out with. EVERYONE had seen it by the time I could make some space in my life to see it. Thus, with the headache, I figured I needed a couple of relaxed nights to relieve the pain and rented two movies.

The first one, 27 Dresses I saw in theatres so I didn’t mind seeing a re-run. I loved the soundtrack and the movie, and since it was 2×1 rentals at my local video store I went and rented Juno too. Many people have reviewed the movie at length (16 yr old, ultra-witty and smart, is faced with the reality of an unplanned pregnancy and decides to give the baby in adoption to a man who is unhappy with his marriage and not prepared to be a father and an uptight woman who desperately wants to be a mother).

Of course, the movie is funny and heart-warming, but I just wanted to call attention to the subtleties and depths of Ellen Page’s acting skills. After she has given birth and she is cuddling up to her boyfriend, you can see her silently crying. Page shows so much pent up emotion just flowing now after the baby’s birth … you can also feel what she’s thinking “what now?“. Fear of the future is something very, very scary.

I really enjoyed the movie and of course, particularly enjoyed Ellen Page. I was also pleasantly surprised at how well Juno’s father and step-mother supported her throughout the pregnancy, and in particular Brenda (the step mom, played by Allison Janney who has earned now much more my respect). Had I not been rooting for Julie Christie, I think my second choice for Best Actress this year would have been Ellen Page. Good work.

Comments»

1. Jodi - July 9, 2008

I love this movie. I own it. On blu-ray. Maybe I will put it on right now so it can keep me company while I “clean.”

2. Tyler Ingram - July 10, 2008

I saw most of it on the plane back from the Dominican Republic, but alas I didn’t get to see the end..it was pretty good though but I don’t feel like renting it just to see the ending.

3. Kerry Anne - July 10, 2008

I loved Juno. That scene where she is lying on the bed crying really got me, too.

4. gillicious - July 10, 2008

In the scene where Juno is crying after giving birth to her baby, I don’t think she’s “worrying about the future” so much as she’s crying for the loss of her child. Despite wanting to give them up, a good number of women do change their minds at birth and decide to keep their babies: it’s mother/child bonding kicking in. I’m otherwise unsure as to what future she’d be scared about, beyond seeing the loss of a future with the child itself.

5. Raul - July 10, 2008

Thanks everyone for the comments!

@ Gillicious – Good point, and yes, it’s probably what she is crying for. The scene, as mentioned by Kerry-Anne, really got me.

@ Tyler – Honestly I’d recommend to rent it. It’s a good one. Maybe Jodi can loan it for a viewing šŸ™‚ Movie night, movie night! With popcorn and all šŸ™‚

6. Tawcan - July 10, 2008

Ugh I still need to find the time one day and watch this movie.

7. Marina - July 10, 2008

I liked Juno but didn’t love it. Sure, the dialog was snappy and Page was sassy and it was a fun movie but I didn’t feel the emotional connection.

Personally, I preferred Page in “Hard Candy” and the recently released on DVD “The Tracey Fragments”

8. Raul - July 12, 2008

@ Tawcan – You totally have to watch it šŸ™‚

@ Marina – I’m scared of watching Hard Candy. Just scared.


Leave a Reply

