jump to navigation

Accepting suggestions for my 1000th post July 11, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, friends, geekifying myself, personal life, random thoughts, Redesigning my blog, Vancouver, Vancouver Blogger Meetup, Web 2.0, WordCamp, WordCamp Fraser Valley, wordpress.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I’ve been polishing the presentation for Fraser Valley WordCamp and in the process, I’ve come to realize that I am REALLY close to 1000 posts on WordPress (I lost 132 posts in the importing process, which was kind of awful, but oh well). Since I’m at 922 (this post included), I have been thinking of organizing a MargaritaCamp + NachoCamp + GinCamp to celebrate my 1000 posts.

At my current writing rate, I estimate that’s going to fall somewhere around the week of Blogathon, so I might have a middle of the week RaulCamp (or simply combine it with the Vancouver Bloggers Meetup!) because, after all, it’s all about me (inside joke, you’ll have to see the t-shirt to know what I’m talking about).

So, I’m opening the floor for suggestions for my 1000th post. I was actually thinking of holding it at a wifi-enabled site (like the Blackwater Cafe) or a bar so that we can celebrate the actual moment of pushing the “Publish” button on my WordPress Dashboard. Any interest in joining for said RaulCamp?

Comments»

1. luc - July 11, 2008

Maybe a “cooking with Raul” videocast, where you accompany one of the chefs that you respect while preparing a favorite dish and talking about the business. Like a restaurant review, from the other side of the counter.

2. ddrucker - July 11, 2008

Two suggestions:

You could actually organize a ‘Postcamp’, where everyone gets together and contributes a couple of sentences or two, or a photo. Then it becomes this humongous post worthy of the number.

Alternatively, you could do what they do on television shows, which is do a ‘clip’ show for an anniversary, which is re-use a bunch of material from old shows, all loosely strung around a group of reminiscences by the characters. When that’s done with enough of a sense of irony and self-parody, I think it can be pretty hilarious (see: any of the Simpsons clip shows).

3. Raul - July 12, 2008

Great suggestions, Luc and David!


Leave a Reply

