jump to navigation

Switching to WordPress from another platform: What do you want to hear? July 15, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, geekifying myself, random thoughts, wcfv, WordCamp, WordCamp Fraser Valley, wordpress.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’m a bit of a keener (surprise, surprise!). I had my PowerPoint slides for Word Camp Fraser Valley (which is taking place tomorrow, Wednesday July 16th, from 6-9pm) prepared since last week. I know what you’re going to say and yes, I always sat at the front of the class, and yes my notes were written in very neat handwriting, and my distillation towers were designed with different color pens, and I was probably the only chemical engineer in my undergrad who chose to do his homework instead of going out and drink heavily (actually, I did my homework in between dance classes, language classes, going out with my friends, training for competitive volleyball, and martial arts).

But I digress… so the point is, even though I’ve already written my presentation, I would like to ask – if you are considering WordPress as a blogging platform, and/or are considering a switch from Blogger or (dare I say) Movable Type to WP – what kind of things would YOU be interested in hearing about?

In my presentation, basically, I’m going to tell you how I switched from Blogger to WordPress (after MUCH peer pressure) and the results I got from the platform switch-over. But I’m sure you have LOTS of questions that could help me prepare (this is like preparing for a final exam!), and I’d love to hear from you.

I have a standing bet with Jodi, and I have promised her that I will buy her a Dr. Pepper if, after hearing all the presentations at WordCamp, she is not convinced of switching from Movable Type to WordPress. I’m bringing the Dr. Pepper just in case. I have faith in my abilities and those of the fabulous team of bloggers and techies who will be presenting tomorrow, but JUST in case, I’m going to err on the side of caution 😀

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - July 15, 2008

Jodi should switch just because WP is the bomb! 😉

Possible things to talk about (if you are not already)

Ease of Use
Plugin Support (unlimited possibilities)
Theme Support (again unlimited possibilities)
Customizability (is that even a real word?)
Huge User base so that updates/security fixes happen often (no vapourware here)
the 5 minute setup? (converting to WP from another platform will take a bit longer)

All the cool kids are using it!

2. inaequitas - July 15, 2008

It would be worthwhile focusing on Blogger-to-WordPress.com conversions, or maybe splitting the discussion logically around that point. I think people need to know how the free WordPress compares to Blogger, in case they aren’t interested in paying anything on top of that.

Continuity would also be a big deal (WP.org allows you to import Blogger stuff, not sure if WP.com does as well). Also, some people may be concerned about SEO rankings if permalinks change – or how to fix those in WP to match Blogger’s (say, you have a TLD for your blogger-hosted domain, and you point it at your new one – even with imported content, links may change, Google popularity for a given post will change, PageRank etc. I know art > stats, but for people that have invested some time in their content, the ‘reset-to-zero’ can be unbearable)

Could we please get the slides afterwards (ideally, not as PPT, maybe through Google Docs or as PDF?) I am unable to attend FraserCamp but I am very interested in what will be discussed there (additionally, if all the presentations will be made available, link us)

Cheers and good luck!

3. miss604 - July 15, 2008

Tip for slides afterwards, use Slideshare so folks can view and embed 🙂

4. Tania - July 15, 2008

Yes, definitely highlight how comparable wordpress.com is to Blogger … I tried out wordpress.com, but was kind of disappointed so I didn’t make the switch (I’m sure if I had given wordpress.org a shot my experience would have been very different… though it also would have cost me something, and I wasn’t willing to committ after my wordpress.com experience).

I’m still strongly considering taking the plunge and investing in wordpress.org though… please share slides!

Great presentation topic, btw! 🙂

5. Jodi - July 15, 2008

I am looking forward to a tasty Dr. Pepper.

IF I were to be seriously considering switching, I would want to know about importability between MT and WP. Comments, posts, categories, anything I would need to keep in mind.

Please do not judge your success solely on whether or not I switch. Do not forget that I am not only stubborn, but six years invested in a system that, while constantly challenging my understanding of it, has always made me happy.

I am looking forward to learning more about WP, as I am trying to convince my mother’s husband that daily, time stamped, updates to a web page made with (gulp) Front Page is, in fact, blogging, and can be done in a simper fashion. Not to mention a better looking and easier to navigate fashion. I think WP is perfect for him.


Leave a Reply

