jump to navigation

WordCamp Fraser Valley – The aftermath July 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in wcfv, WordCamp, WordCamp Fraser Valley.
Tags: ,
trackback

After a really long and exhausting day (I had only 3.5 hours of sleep), I am at home, it’s past midnight on Thursday already and I really shouldn’t be blogging, but I should be sleeping. However, I think I need to take a few minutes to take stock of WordCamp, and ask my readers and the participants to give us feedback. Normally, I would also take some time to mention all the wonderful people I met and send them some link love (I did indeed lose the bet to Jodi), but I am really exhausted, so you’ll have to forgive me for that.

We are our worst critics and I think some of us who presented felt that we could have done a better job. Let me say that this is completely natural. With the exception of John Chow, who seems like he’s done dozens of these presentations and he is a natural, I think that we all thought we did an ok job but we wish we had done better. The funny thing is that the feedback that we all got was that our presentations were great. And you know, since the people who told us that were actually the audience, we should pat ourselves in the back.

I want to take a minute to thank Gary AND his team for superb organization (I saw Brady Valentino there as well, I am assuming as a volunteer). It was a real delight to share this experience with all of you, and the chocolates were definitely a very nice and classy touch. You guys did a great job. All of this work as well as that of Rastin, Jenn, Ash and Teresa when the first WordCamp Vancouver happened, only comes to show that we are indeed a great WordPress community. Gary and his team put together WordCamp Fraser Valley, Rastin and his team put together WordCamp Vancouver, now who is going to take the baton and organize WordCamp British Columbia or WordCamp Canada? Inquiring minds want to know… 😀

Thanks to a wonderful audience as well. You guys were simply awesome, and I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people. Everyone was supportive, friendly and I am delighted that people came and introduced themselves to me.

Those of you who attended but did not have a chance to talk to us, I would really appreciate it if you left a comment on my blog regarding what you thought of the presentations. I’m going to speak to you as I would to my own students – just when you provide your feedback, be constructive and remember that we are human beings with feelings and that we did all of this in a total volunteer manner and we are not making money out of this.

We came and spoke because we are passionate about blogging, about the WordPress platform, and about sharing this with the larger community. I think I can speak for my fellow presenters when I say that this, same as WordCamp Vancouver, was a really wonderful experience. Thank you all. To my fellow presenters: Rebecca, Kulpreet, John, Gary – your work inspires me and I’m grateful to have shared this experience.

Also, thanks are due to Andy for recording pretty much all of my talk on my Flip camera and being such a good sport taking photos and videos (while I was busy giving my presentations). Thanks to Gregg for saving me with the battieries! Tyler, Gregg, Liam, Jodi, Dale, Lorraine, Ryan, Tom, and everyone whom I might have missed but I saw at WordCamp, thank you all.

Comments»

1. WordCamp Fraser Valley | John Chow dot Com - July 17, 2008

[…] speaker included Raul from Hummingbird 604, Rebecca Bollwitt from Miss604.com, Kulpreet Singh, Gary Jones from BlueFur.com and myself. The […]

2. Kulpreet Singh - July 17, 2008

Hi Raul,

It was great to meet you. Also it was a pleasant surprise to meet Andy. In fact if I knew he’d be there, I would have requested Gary to ask him to speak because he’s working for Automattic and is using WordPress MU to make something really cool (BuddyPress).

I’m thinking of working on the next WP event – something with different sessions for different audiences, over the course of a day or two. So that might be the next WordPress BC!

take care

-k.s.

3. WordPress Camp Fraser Valley - Kulpreet Singh - July 17, 2008
4. Tyler Ingram - July 17, 2008

I want a big WordPress Camp to happen in Vancouver. Like a 2 day event, I definitely would go. With workshops and such?

Raul it was great meeting you and what you had talked about was good too. Jodi if you’re reading this you really need to get on the WordPress train 😉 Btw how was the Dr.Pepper? lol

After attending my first WordPress WordCamp I want to get into consulting! lol

5. OnlineSnitch.com » WordCamp Fraser Valley - July 17, 2008

[…] speaker included Raul from Hummingbird 604, Rebecca Bollwitt from Miss604.com, Kulpreet Singh, Gary Jones from BlueFur.com and myself. The […]

6. jennerosity - July 17, 2008

I really enjoyed the WordCamp and now that I’ve attended one ‘Camp’ I think I’d definitely attend future ones (time, schedule, etc. permitting). Just finished a post on my own blog with some of my thoughts following the event.

7. Nicholas Chase - July 18, 2008

Raul, Thank you Great post!

Just signed up for your full feed.

Dedicated people are all over the web, and your dedication is appreciated. I live in California. Any chance of a future Word Press Camp in the SF Bay Area?

John Chow would love all of the great restaurants down here! Especially the seafood!

Any chance of making your Flip video presentation ‘linkable?’ Let me know?
I currently use Blogger, but need to make my page width wider to make room for more ads! As my website gets built-out, I want to begin to use the features Word Press enables. Let me know?

Respectfully,

Nicholas Chase
http://www.ChaseMarketing-domain.com
Email: nachase@yahoo.com

8. Money Making Blog » Blog Archive » WordCamp Fraser Valley - July 23, 2008

[…] speaker included Raul from Hummingbird 604, Rebecca Bollwitt from Miss604.com, Kulpreet Singh, Gary Jones from BlueFur.com and myself. The […]

9. John Chow dot Com » WordCamp Fraser Valley - August 5, 2008

[…] speaker included Raul from Hummingbird 604, Rebecca Bollwitt from Miss604.com, Kulpreet Singh, Gary Jones from BlueFur.com and myself. The […]

10. Twitter, Gnomedex and holding an attention span « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 22, 2008

[…] be told, I didn’t feel this way when I presented earlier this year at WordCamp Fraser Valley, but somehow there were a lot less laptops there than I imagine are available at […]

11. WordCamp Fraser Valley | Work at Home Money Making Tips - September 6, 2008

[…] speaker included Raul from Hummingbird 604, Rebecca Bollwitt from Miss604.com, Kulpreet Singh, Gary Jones from BlueFur.com and myself. The […]

12. Upcoming event - Movie premiere, “The Widow Colony” « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - September 28, 2008

[…] Kulpreet (who is a WordPress wizard and has presented at both previous WordCamps, Vancouver and Fraser Valley) asked me whether I could highlight an upcoming event, the movie premiere of the movie […]


Leave a Reply

