jump to navigation

BarCamp Vancouver 2008 is coming up! July 22, 2008

Posted by Raul in barcamp08.
Tags: , ,
trackback

And if you haven’t signed up, you better get going on this! This is my very first BarCamp (I would have attended last year, but I had just recently begun to read more frequently Rebecca’s blog and I don’t think it registered in my brain that it would be an important event to attend).

Given that I am now in the tech world, and that I have A LOT of friends in tech/social media, it just makes sense for me to participate. This year, I’m part of the organizing committee and I promised to help (I haven’t yet been assigned any specific tasks, but since apparently I’m a master of schmoozing and social networking – not my words, Thomasso‘s! I guess I will be helping with venues or sponsorship or something along those lines).

Rebecca and Duane will be headlining WordCamp (a mini-camp on all things WordPress), which is kind of cool. I am of course sure that by then, I’ll be self-hosted and therefore, if the topic comes up, I can always talk about the transition from the WordPress.com-hosted to self-hosted (a topic that I told Kulpreet I would talk about if there is a BC WordCamp in the future).

So what is BarCamp and why should you attend?

BarCamp is an ad-hoc unconference born from the desire for people to share and learn in an open environment. It is an intense event with discussions, demos and interaction from attendees. Anyone with something to contribute or with the desire to learn is welcome and invited to join. When you come, be prepared to share with barcampers. When you leave, be prepared to share it with the world.[BarCamp wiki]

So, save the date (it’s about a week after my birthday, so I will try to include some post-birthday celebrations in here (after the camp is over, of course!)

Comments»

1. Nadia - July 22, 2008

Looking forward to it darling! Lets hope I can shake hands with everyone after the Blogathon- worried these fingers are not going to make it.

2. Dale - July 23, 2008

In the context of BarCamp, using WordCamp in reference to WordPress is probably fine. To the greater world it may be a disservice because of the MS Word association. When I’ve mentioned WordCamp to couple of people their first thought was it’s a Microsoft deal. And if someone were Googling ‘wordpress’, they’d never find this post!

I’m registered and really looking forward to BarCamp.

3. Raul - July 23, 2008

@ Nadia – I know! Blogathon is going to be exciting!

@ Dale – You’re right and I’m going to throw a few WordPress references on the post so that the Google scouring wizards can come and find it!

4. Vancouver Blogger Meetup August 2008 and September 2008 « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 22, 2008

[…] Now, here’s the thing. I am not in Vancouver, as most of you know. Therefore, I can’t physically organize the August meeting. I’ll be back in Vancouver around mid-September, but we also have BarCamp 2008 in September (you must have known about this as we all blogged about it!). […]


Leave a Reply

