jump to navigation

I’m not the hummingbird I once was… July 23, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was having tea with Phaedra and we talked about the fact that I do 421 things in one day and how I manage to still have energy. But the truth is, I am not the hummingbird I once was. I still have many of the abilities that I have been blessed with throughout the years, but I get tired, more and more. Recently, Rebecca was emphasizing recently that I try really hard not to let anyone down and to participate in every event, every party, every gathering, even if that means having to bend over backwards.

I have to say that I’ve come to admire Duane, Tod and Tanya as three of the people I have known to take time for themselves, and who are not afraid to say no. I have a really hard time saying no to people or to things. I have tried really hard to learn how to do this (say no) in the academic realm, but to my friends, I always struggle.

Recently, I cancelled social engagements with several of my offline friends, and with many of my online friends. I felt guilty like you have no idea. But honestly, if I don’t do that, I’m going to run out of energy reserves faster than I will be able to replenish them. I’m just saying. So, if I cancel on you, do not take this personally. I just need me time, Raul time.

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - July 23, 2008

ME Time is always good! Mondays are usually my ME days where I just kind of veg at home and relax.

Remember you do have to look after #1, yourself!

2. Dave O - July 23, 2008

take your time, think a lot, think of everything you’ve got, because it will still be here tomorrow, but your dreams may not.

stay true to what you really wanna do and let the documentation become part of the process, not the end result.

my 2 cents + bonus thoughts from Yussef Islam

3. Tanya (aka NetChick) - July 24, 2008

🙂 just remember what I said today — take it with a grain of salt.

“social media” is like a relationship. You need to bring things IN, and you can’t do that if you don’t find balance. You shouldn’t feel guilty about saying no to things — You should feel rejuvenated. Because, you’ll bring so much more back to those you share your “social media” relationship with.

Find time for yourself. Nothing on this earth ensures, like self-health balance, that you have the ability and strength to give everything back to others.

4. Sarah - July 24, 2008

Saying no is a tough thing. That used to be my big issue. I couldn’t say no to any invitation. But in the end, it leads to burn out and I think it’s really important to take care of yourself first. Why do you think they tell you to put on those air masks in an airplane emergency on yourself first before helping others? It may sound selfish, but if you do only what you want to do, it will make you a happier healthier person, which will also impact the people you are around. My two cents. I’m still working on saying “no.” It’s not easy…


Leave a Reply

