jump to navigation

Reflect on who you are and where you are going July 24, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

I read Jeff Pulver’s blog very frequently, not only because he is inspiring but also because I regret, day after day, having missed breakfast with him when he was recently in Vancouver.

For all the wonderful things I’m supposed to be able to do, I wasn’t able to make it to that breakfast. I regret it, I seriously do. Anyway, we were having a comments/online conversation about who we were and where we were going.

I commented on Jeff’s post that sometimes I didn’t know if I was the Raul I wanted to be, and given my recent experiences, I would really like to reassure myself that I am, indeed, the Raul I want to be. I am pretty sure that wherever I go, I will brighten people’s lives. Not being self-centered, it’s just the truth. I am a guy who can bring light and happiness to you, if you let me.

The problem is, how often do we reflect on who we are and where we are going? Very seldom, I would venture. Ask yourselves – how often do you think about yourselves and whether you are the person you want to be?

One of the privileges I have in my blog, and I have just recently discovered it again, is that this blog is about ME. If you want to know who I am (Raul the academic, Raul the blogger, Raul the volleyball player, Raul the professional salsa dancer, Raul the geek) you don’t need to go anywhere. Here I am, and here is my story. Where is YOURS?

Comments»

1. Maktaaq - July 24, 2008

You’re a professional salsa dancer too?!

2. Jeff Pulver - July 24, 2008

Thanks for sharing your thoughts / reactions / introspections.

And I hope to meet you the next time I visit Vancouver and host a social event. 🙂

3. Barbara Doduk - July 24, 2008

I think about this all day every day. It is a bit of an ongoing obsession in my world, thinking about my path in life and how to really get back on track after allowing myself to fall so far. My blog used to be a lot more personal and talked about my reflections on my personal growth but now the person I live with doesn’t want me to be open about life, wants more privacy so I have to respect his wishes (for now). Plus after awhile I felt like I was always whining. 😦

I love your blog Raul. Keep on keepin’ on.


Leave a Reply

