jump to navigation

A walk along Westminster Quay July 25, 2008

Posted by Raul in New Westminster, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

A few weeks ago, I wrote a guest post for Rebecca’s series on Metro Vancouver parks on Westminster Quay, and this past week that I went to the Surrey Fusion Festival, I drove back through New West (JT was too tired to drive, which is fine since I love driving, and he never gets to see the views I enjoy whenever he drives out).

New Westminster Quay

If I worked from home (I do now, but I mean, well-paid!), or I married rich and retired, I think I would seriously consider buying an apartment in Westminster Quay. The views are great and I really enjoyed walking around this area, and the Skytrain station (New Westminster) is literally minutes away. I found the walk a bit too much for me, but it was because at the time, I was kind of tired. But overall, I probably would move to this area, for sure.

New Westminster Quay

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - July 25, 2008

I like parts of New West. They are trying to revitalize it as well. Some parts of New West are well.. less desirable:)

2. Marina - July 25, 2008

To boot, it’s central! 🙂

I love the Quay. We live a bit further up the hill in Burnaby but this is walking distance (downhill at least…I’m not sure I’d try walking but up that hill) and it is a beautiful spot for walking. Next time you’re in the hood, we should get together for a drink!

3. Jodi - July 25, 2008

hey, you were just down the hill from me. i live in new west.

4. Susannah - July 25, 2008

I love the Quay, too, and that second pool in particular. When I lived in New West, I walked the length of the Quay several times a week. I used to sit on the steps at the far end of the pool (in deep shadow in your photo), eat my lunch and watch the ducklings.

Alas, that was some time ago, and now they have kicked the ducks out and a couple of gardens on the roof of the end building have gone. Now it looks just a bit too sterile. I wouldn’t sit there any more.


Leave a Reply

