jump to navigation

A citizen of the world, thank you very much! July 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

In the past few months, I have to confess that I have been really upset when people refer to visiting a certain foreign country as “I visited YOUR country, I saw YOUR president” or “are you going home for the summer?“. THIS is my home now, thank you very much. I’ve lived here for over a decade!

Some people could even mistake this for being xenophobic against my own heritage. Nothing further from the truth. However, I did not elect the president who is ruling that country right now. I refuse to be told that X or Y are “my President”. Heck, not even Stephen Harper is my Prime Minister! I am a citizen of the world, I have lived in North America, in Europe, and I can settle wherever the heck I want because I speak enough languages to move anywhere and function.

Not sure why this irritates me so much, but it does. It seriously does. I mean, if I wanted to, I could pass for whatever race/ethnicity I wanted to (I speak enough languages with varying degrees of fluency – I am sure I can fake it to be French, or even Japanese!). Anyways… just blowing off some steam… Don’t pay too much attention to this!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

