jump to navigation

Some random content from a random thinker July 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in Blogathon 2008, blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

This week has been intense, and I feel really overwhelmed. Between all the things I do online and off-line, I am at the point where the hummingbird needs to take a break. But as always, there are things that I ponder about.

Recently, I have become more aware of the fact that my blogging will probably be a factor in the job decision-making process. If I get a job with the government, will I be able to blog? Will I be able to express the opinions that I have in the same manner? Or should I be subject to a specific standard/code of conduct?

I have been saying that I want Web 2.0 and my blogging to help me get my next job, and I am quite appreciative of the things I have managed to achieve, and the neat things I have been able to do (and all of this, thanks to some very kind people who are in my life now).

Anyhow, not sure where exactly this reflection is going, but figured I should just throw it out there. Particularly since it’s late at night and I’m not 100% sure what I can blog about. But basically, I just want to remind you to donate to the BC Cancer Agency through my page, it’s a very worthy cause.

Furthermore, I would also like to remind my readers that people whom I care for a lot (an Aunt and a friend of mine) are currently afflicted by the illness, and it is to their battle that I dedicate this Blogathon.

Comments»

1. shanegibson - July 26, 2008

Raul… I’m blogging from home. How about you? I somehow set my blog to GMT so your 12:15 am comment came in at 7:15 am.

RE: Jobs: I think you have some great skills as a blogger and a writer, so definitely find an employer where they appreciate and celebrate your strengths.

2. Barbara Doduk - July 26, 2008

When I started my job search, after being self employed for so long, I was worried that my new employer would be wary of my online personality. I mean anyone who googles my name will see my life, plain as day. My boss admitted to googling me, and feeling creepy about reading about me, and decided to go with his gut and my resume. I NEVER blog about my work, other than to say I honestly love my job, and my co-workers and boss rock. I think blogging can be a positive to future work, depending on what type of blog you have and the line of work you seek.


Leave a Reply

