jump to navigation

The blogroll issue July 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags: ,
trackback

Hat tip to one of my regular readers, Luc, who reminded me a few weeks ago of why i keep a blogroll. Long story made short, I keep a blogroll mostly because I like to showcase the fine blogs that i don’t link to all the time, but that I DO read all the time. I recognize that my blogroll is going to explode because I read A LOT of blogs, but now that I have an RSS reader very well configured, I really don’t worry that much about having a really long blogroll.

Rebecca had an excellent post up on the value of blogrolls, and I think that she makes a really good point as to why we should have it. It’s kind of impossible to know which blogrolls you are not on. I have noticed I am NOT in the blogroll of some local Vancouver bloggers, and while it doesn’t really bother me all that much, it does bother me when I drive traffic to their site – because I think that reciprocity is key. Have you looked at Derek K. Miller‘s blogroll? At Rebecca Bollwitt‘s? At Tanya Davis‘? At Jonathon Narvey‘s? They’re MASSIVE! These are very fine local bloggers and they link to A LOT OF PEOPLE.

Every so often I think that I should take some of the non-linking local bloggers off my blogroll (e.g. when the blogger in question gets traffic off of my site but I don’t get the same back – remember, I have photographic memory and I retain A LOT of stuff). So far, I have done it only with a couple of them, and I recognize that this may be seen as a petty issue. Since I don’t want to initiate that kind of argument, but also given that it’s my blog, and my blogroll, I think I am very much entitled to do with it whatever I want šŸ™‚ The same applies to theirs. I just find that the more link love you give, the better. But then again, there are many views on the issue. I am just providing one.

Comments»

1. Barbara Doduk - July 26, 2008

I think that is somewhat valid. Like you said, it’s your blog roll, do what you like.

Personally I add people I enjoy reading and think other should read, to my roll.

If I do not get a link back, I try not to take it too personal.

For instance, as much love as Rebecca shows me in posts etc, I have never been on her BlogRoll. I don’t take that personally, I respect that there is usually a reason.

I don’t add people to my blog roll in hopes of a return link, I do it because I really do read them and enjoy them and think others should too.

2. Barbara Doduk - July 26, 2008

PS, I can’t find where to donate to your blogathon, maybe you should add a link to the posts???

3. Jodi - July 26, 2008

my blogrool is horribly out of date. i need to go through my RSS feeds and update it.

4. Jeff Pulver - July 26, 2008

Thanks for sharing your perspective on the Blog Roll issue. It’s been years since I’ve updated my own. And I shared the same issues you shared.

I figured Blog Rolls meant more when people visit your site rather than just read using a RSS reader. But for those who comment on your blog, they are the ones who will have a chance to click on one of your friend’s links.

5. John Bollwitt - July 26, 2008

My problem is keeping a blogroll up to date. And if it’s out of date, that means some people are going to be left off. When I do add or subtract anyone, I’m always going to forget someone, so it’s a constant struggle.

It’s nothing personal. Being that I have hard enough time of finding the time and/or inspiration to post something, a blogroll is the last thing on my mind, and I understand if that makes me come off as a jerk. It’s just the truth.

6. Rob Cottingham - July 26, 2008

I wish Google Reader would let you output a live blogroll (instead of just an OPML file). I’m still relying on Bloglines, which I no longer use for blog reading… which is why you won’t see many of the newer blogs I’m reading listed.

7. gusgreeper - July 26, 2008

this is a good post. i actually regret taking my blogroll down i had my reasons none of them had anything to do with bloggers it was about me but it has turned out to be a royal pain in the ass when i become overwhelmed by my feed. which i have just gotten back into official action šŸ™‚

8. Cecily - July 26, 2008

I stopped keeping a blogroll when people started placing too much emotional value on their presence — or lack thereof — on my blogroll.

9. Richard - July 26, 2008

I stopped publishing a blogroll a few years ago because of the difficulty to keep it updated. Then Rebecca and you, Raul, came along and reminded me that the blogroll is a feature of of a blog, and then I realized a little later that the only way to find out what interesting bloggers are reading is to visit that section of their site. So mine is back up, quietly resurrected on my sidebar a month or so ago, with a very small subset of blogs I read (a few links are easier to maintain than many), in case people want to know where else to go from my spot on the web.

10. luc - July 26, 2008

I take the altruistic approach: I don’t even have a blog. I only post comments on others’ blogs until I get banned for inappropriate behavior, which is a form of “tough” love, I guess.


Leave a Reply

