jump to navigation

Why I wish I was more like Raul – Guest post by Jodi Hamilton July 26, 2008

Posted by Raul in Blogathon 2008, blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

This post was written and contributed by Jodi Hamilton who blogs at Jodiferous.com

Why I Wish I Was More Like Raul

You know, I wish I was more like Raul. Hear me out. First of all, he’s wicked smart. He’s got a PhD in stuff I cannot even begin to explain. If I had a PhD, I would make EVERYONE call me Dr. Hamilton. Even my husband. But Raul isn’t crazy like me, with all those brains, he still acts like he’s no better than the rest of us.

Number two, have you heard of Twitter? Raul has. And he can make friends with nothing more than a twitter account. Myself, I am actually quite shy. I would need, most likely, a several shots of vodka and some herbal assistance to be as social and friendly as Raul. Everywhere he goes he MEETS people and has EXPERIENCES. In all caps. To a wallflower such as myself, this is an enviable trait. I recently accompanied my spouse to a work function, a bbq. And how did I handle it? I befriended the family dog and played a marathon game of fetch with him. It’s all good, though. I think the dog and I are going to try to meet for coffee sometime next week.

And now, to top it off, he is spending 24 hours writing and raising money for the BC Cancer Society. I don’t mean this to sound trite, but he is a giver in the best and most noble sense of the word. I lost my stepfather last year to metastatic melanoma, last year, so, to me, Raul is a hero.

However, I can eat cheese with no adverse effects. So I have that going for me. Which is nice.

Jodi Hamilton is the proud owner of Jodiferous.com, which [despite Raul’s best intentions] is still written using a Movable Type 4 platform. Raul recently lost a bet to Jodi and had to pay a Dr. Pepper, and there is photographic proof on Raul’s Flickr! And she’s also an awesome writer!

Comments»

1. moritherapy - July 26, 2008

yay raul! yay jodi! yay cheese!

2. Beth - July 26, 2008

I call him “Dr. Raul.” Or “Dr. R.” This may be, in part, because I make everyone call me Dr Beth (including family, friends, my hockey teammates..)


Leave a Reply

