jump to navigation

Quick update post July 29, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
Tags: ,
trackback

I had written a really cool, after-the-Blogathon post, but I have a head-shattering headache again (potentially due to lack of sleep or excess caffeine – I had two Americanos while doing Blogathon) so I saved it in my drafts and will publish it later.

Super quick updates –

– Yes, you CAN still donate to the BC Cancer Foundation (my cause for Blogathon 2008) by clicking HERE.

– Today is the July 2008 Vancouver Bloggers Meetup at the Blackwater Cafe (Cordova and Carrall in Gastown) at 7:00pm. There’s wi-fi, beautiful art in the walls and about 35 or so bloggers confirmed. If you haven’t RSVP’d yet, I’d appreciate it if you did as I have to talk to Shane about numbers (for tables, etc.). You may not know this, but my good friend Isabella Mori has now bestowed the Organizer role for future VBMs on to me, so now it will be up to me to keep tabs on all of you Vancouver bloggers 🙂

– This coming weekend is Pride Weekend. There will be LOTS of stuff happening, and if there is a city that should be proud is Vancouver, where you can, without a doubt, have a boyfriend, a girlfriend, or both and nobody will say anything. How cool is that? I will, of course, be attending several of the Pride events and will potentially drag several of my online and offline friends. Pride Day (Sunday) I will NOT be blogging at all.

– My 1000th post is coming up. Technically, I’m at 1005 but several of those were guest-posts, so I’ll let you know when the post is going to be published. And there will, indeed be a celebration. Either a RaulCamp or an Imbib-o-Camp, as Derek called it (Airdrie and I had been talking about a MargaritaCamp, Ryan suggested a GinCamp and Kerry-Anne said that she’d bring wine (oh speaking of wine – check out VinoCamp!) Alas, I won’t be able to check VinoCamp unless it is in the role of a volunteer, because wine (in all its forms) gives me headaches.

That’s all for now. It’s 2 am and I need to sleep.

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - July 29, 2008

The girlfriend was looking forward to seeing the Pride Parade this year but alas we’ll be in Hornby from Thursday to Monday so Raul I’m expecting at least some blogging about the Pride Weekend to see how it went etc lol.

2. Michael Yurechko - July 29, 2008

Pride Weekend is always fun. I may have to go check it out this weekend if I have some time. I love that Pride is an event anyone can go to and have a good time.. unless you’re a religious nut or homophobic (oh boy, do I know lots of those). For the rest of us in the 21st century, it should be a great time.

3. Tuesday Morning Link Fest: Blogathon Recovery and Video Edition » Vancouver Blog Miss 604 - July 29, 2008

[…] – The Vancouver Blogger Meetup for July is taking place tonight at the Blackwater Cafe @ 7:00pm. [Hummingbird604] […]

4. Phaedra - July 29, 2008

I will be on Davie St Friday eve in the street-long beer gardens with Karianne. Come find us!


Leave a Reply

